Never fails...does it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2004, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Unhappy Never fails...does it?

...finally got my OS. Installed most o' the software stuff that came w/my mobo and vid. card. The only thing that I FORGOT to install was...well I can't remeber, but I do know that It was probably something important (possibly the drivers for the vid. card) because when I power up, and I get to the desktop, this little messase window pops up and i't something about no ATI driver detected/installed. A few seconds later, it locks up, and I gotta shutdown and restart the hard way (ctrl+alt+del doesn't work). My CPU runs at like 52 C. I can't see any other problems. How can I solve this problem? Someone PLZ answer, 'cause I've waited like 2 years for this and now it doesn't work!!!!
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 11:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

go into safe mode and set your primary display adater as "standard PCI adapter/VGA" .. and no it doesn't matter that you have AGP, this is a default generic setting. after that, may want to goto the ATI web site and get there driver cleaning software and run that.. THEN reinstall the drivers. (oh yeah, u should be able to boot into normal mode from safe mode after setting it to standard PCI graphics adapter VGA), the screen will look like crap, though, until the real ATI drivers are installed.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 11:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

1. how do i go into safe mode? do u mean the bios or what?
2. don't have internet access but will try ur first thing.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

hold F10(i think) during boot. if its not F10 try 11 or 12, pritty shur its 10 though.

it will come up with a prompt asking u if u wont normal or safe.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

F8 is the function key you you need to hold dwn to get into safe mode.
heavywx is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 01:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah I believe it's F8 too, lol jolancer . What kind of motherboard do you have? You may not have installed the drivers for the AGP slot itself if you can't remember what drivers you installed. It would say something to the effect of 'Drivers for AGP 3.0' but even with no ATI drivers installed it shouldn't lock your system up, it should just default to 800x600

My FX5700 would cause my system to lock up at boot....was the ASUS motherboard I had. When I got my MSI it worked like a charm so perhaps its a weird mobo incompatibility like I had. When was the last time you've formatted because if you do any major hardware changes and its been a while since you've formatted that can cause issues. Did you happen to go from an nvidia card to an ATI or did you have an ATI originally or onboard video? If you have onboard video you need to go into your BIOS and disable that. If you had had an nvidia based card previously you need to get rid of the drivers that are still lurking in your system. If you have no internet connect how are you posting You need to get Nvidia Detonator I believe is what its called to completely clean out any remaining nvidia drivers. AGEX should be able to tell you the ATI equivelant of cleaning out drivers if you went from an ATI to an upgraded ATI.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 08:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I think it is a compatibility problem, Nubius, because I booted up and was quick enough to put the CD in and try instailling th drivers. I eventually came up w/a message that it has not passed the windows logo test. Windows strongly recomends that you see the vendor for a Windows logo passed CD/drive/something like that. How do I install the Drivers for the AGP slot? A CD or what? We have 2 comps. old AMD and mine. Mine doesn't have internet but the other does. My spec are in my sig. Brand new built comp. Whats on there is the first. Never used nVidia. Don't have onboard vid. I haven't touched the hard drive. Lastly, is it F8 or F10,11, and 12? Do I hold it down throughout booting up?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 11:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Ha! It STILL freezes up on me!!!!! Even in Safe Mode!!! ooooooo this is SO anoying.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 01:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Check for bios updates for your motherboard.Look over your manual make sure your settings are correct for your AGP card
Primary VGA BIOS = PCI VGA card. Check to make sure everything is seated properly in the slots.V-card,Mem etc...
It shouldnt be locking up .What Operating System are you running?
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 09-09-2004, 03:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
apprehend the reverse tradtional format of manifesting each motherboard to its full capacity (s-cast).
Yeah...put it in english cause I doubt he'll know what you meant.

Regulus...the drivers for your AGP slot are on the same CD that have the drivers for your entire motherboard...you need to know where your motherboard drivers are. F8 should be your key for safemode but I think you already got that. Sounds basically like you got the same trouble as me bud =/ Wound up having to get a new mobo. Put the card in the other machine you have and see if it works. BTW I had an ASUS board too and my FX5700 wouldn't work in it....got an MSI board and it works just fine.....you are like the 3rd person thats had an ASUS board that won't work with a graphics card. If your other machine has an ASUS board and it freezes...then my personal opinion that ASUS SUCKS *** still holds true. If you could somehow obtain another motherboard or if your old AMD has a different mobo try it in there. Then you'll know its your mobo. I had an ASUS board and for whatever the hell reason my FX5700 would just cause the system to lockup right at the startup. Put it in my friends older computer with a brand named mobo called 'AZZA' (anyone actually hear of that cause I haven't) and it worked in his system just fine.

My final conclusion: Probably your mobo :/ I got an MSI KT6V and at zipzoomfly.com its only like $50-$60 about all I can suggest. Trust me I did EVERYTHING to troubleshoot my computer when that happened.

Updated bios, updated drivers, formatted like 5 times and tried installing the drivers in different combinations like..first the card THEN the motherboard, then I'd format and try the motherboard drivers THEN the card, then I'd try it without internet, in another computer, switched out PSU's, basically a week of hell just to come to the conclusion I had to get a new mobo. I'm gonna say thats probably what it is.

I've said it once and I'll say it again. I don't care what any of you say ASUS SUCKS and they are going down hill as far as good motherboard makers are concerned. Support is terrible unless you can speak taiwanese. Good luck
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.