Netwrok printer problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2003, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1
Exclamation Netwrok printer problems

I work for the Information technology and service department at Guilford college.
We have been experinceing printing problems on our network since december 16th 2002 and I am woundering if anybody out there has had simular problems and or knows how to fix them
we are running a windows 2000 ms office network and are using HP and Ricoh printers and have been getting the following printer errors since december 16th of last year and are getting the following error messages repeatedly by students using the computers in one of our labs, and once the students use one of those computers they experince the problem on almost every computer on campus they log onto:
8.5x13, Excutive, Foolscap , A4 not loaded in tray
Resoultion not supported
This problem is not specific to any program
and we don not know what is causing the change in settings
so if anybody knows anything that could be of help please respond to this problem

william is offline  
Old 03-27-2003, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828

So...What your saying is that the setting like Resolution and everything change when you try to print over a network?

Well, I really can't help you out right now...doesn't seem like enough info! So every program you use to print it does that? Sounds like to that it may be your network or printer settings but I'm not sure sorry to say! My 2 printers work with network between computers but I'm running a whole other O/S...hope you find help!

3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-28-2003, 09:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338

Sn'S has a point. We're going to need some more info to help you troubleshoot that.

Please briefly go over your network setup. I assume you're using a cable based star configuration. Do you have any wireless routers in this? What machine is the printer set up to? When a student gets the error the first time, you mentioned that it occurred in the computer the printer in the same room? etc etc. anything that might be helpful...please, post it.
Seloce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.