network problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2003, 10:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

oh not wireless, and yea firewall is on the router.

sometimes when i look at the modem, it goes into red lights *not working that means*

its wierd.. i feel as if the router is a piece of garbage and i need a new one.

altho it costed me 100 dollars canadian, that sux. Down with US robotics.
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 05:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i don't think kboy realizes you have already fixed your problem

and btw spfd, yes the router saves the settings from your network but not in the way you are thinking. it saves admin passwords, configuration settings like port forwarding. they also store MAC and IP adresses until they expire or the machine is disconnected from the network anyways.

i am sure the problem you had was due to invalid IP address on your network. i might not have the correct technical explaination, but i have the general idea of whats happening. if anyone sees mistakes please correct me. let me clarify:

your computers each requested IP adresses from the router which probably also acts as a DHCP server that handles the IP addressing.

those IP addresses given to each machine has a lease time, that is, a time when you can no longer use that IP address. each machine stores the IP address assigned by the DHCP server, in this case your router, until the lease expires.

when you reset the router it all the configurations were deleted. your computers still think they are using valid IP address, but the router does not acknowledge them since it's routing database was deleted. doing a release and renew will fix the problem. although i think it's better to disable ane re-enable the network connection.

during the releasing process the computer releases , or stops using the IP address and broadcasts a message on the network asking the DHCP server to give that machine a new IP address. the router acknowledges the request and issues a new IP address (renewing).

so now when the machine tries to use the network the dhcp server ackowledges the machine's request because it checks it's routing table and sees that the machine requesting permission matches the info it has in the routing table and grants it the appropriate permissions to access the network.

-------------------------------------------
if someone with networking knowledge could check the accuracy of this info that would be great.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 10:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

oops
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 07:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

$100 canadian??
my router cost that much in USD!
...then again, it IS wireless.

ahh, the things 18 year-olds will buy to get net access in their own room... XD
__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 08:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

nope not wireless =/
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.