Network Cards Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2004, 11:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 47
Question Network Cards Help!

In my area there is only dial-up avaliable, and im wondoring does a better network card make dial up faster or are do all of them dial you up at the same kbs? Because i have a old network card from like a 7 year old computer will a good network card make my internet fatser? and if so what is suggested? Thanks
__________________

__________________
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+(1600MHz FSB)
Motherboard: Albatron K8X800 Pro
Memory: 1024 MB DDR400 Dual Channel PC3200 RAM
Video Card: Radeon 9800 PRO 256MB
Hard Drive: 160GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
CD Drive: 8x DVD+RW Drive
Sound: AC 97 6 channel 5.1 Full duplex digital sound
Case: X-BLADE MID-TOWER CASE: 400w power supply
Monitor: Sumsung 19\" crt syncmaster
DoomPotts is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I think you mean a modem, not a network card

but yes, if your modem is less than a 56k then you would be better off getting a 56k
__________________

deitel is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 47
Default

Oh yea the modem.
__________________
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+(1600MHz FSB)
Motherboard: Albatron K8X800 Pro
Memory: 1024 MB DDR400 Dual Channel PC3200 RAM
Video Card: Radeon 9800 PRO 256MB
Hard Drive: 160GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
CD Drive: 8x DVD+RW Drive
Sound: AC 97 6 channel 5.1 Full duplex digital sound
Case: X-BLADE MID-TOWER CASE: 400w power supply
Monitor: Sumsung 19\" crt syncmaster
DoomPotts is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default

There are many factors that go into this, if your provider can only give you up to 56kbps and you have a 28.8kbps modem then you can upgrade and get a little boost. However, you have to understand that the noise on the line can also play a line in your speed so keep that in mind.
__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.