Netgear Router Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default Netgear Router Problem

OK, so connecting an ethernet cord directly to my cable modem works just fine. However, when I try to connect to the internet through my router (which is, of course, plugged into the modem), windows says there is no internet (although it does realize that the computer is plugged into something). The router looks like it should be working (i.e. all the correct lights are on), but there is still some issue fouling things up.

Also, I logged into the router and reset it to default settings and then told the it to attempt to determine what type of connection was present. It figures that part out, but can't ever access the internet. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 05:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sodaen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Default Re: Netgear Router Problem

DHCP is not active. Go into your network properties of the Network Interface Card you are using and manually point the gateway to your router's IP. Set an IP address that is on your router's network. Meaning if the router's IP is 192.168.0.254 then you set your computer's IP as 192.168.0.1-192.168.0.253, any of the numbers within there. Subnet will be automatically supplied, if not it is 255.255.255.0. Set your DNS server as your router's IP address.

This should fix it, if not, then respond.
__________________

Sodaen is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default Re: Netgear Router Problem

OK, Sodaen, I just tried that and nothing works. I played with all those settings a bit too and had no luck.

However, when I right click my Local Area Connection>Properties> and select Properties of TCP/IP>Advanced it says that DHCP is enabled.
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Netgear Router Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by fifreak3 View Post
OK, Sodaen, I just tried that and nothing works. I played with all those settings a bit too and had no luck.

However, when I right click my Local Area Connection>Properties> and select Properties of TCP/IP>Advanced it says that DHCP is enabled.
Well, if DHCP wasn't enabled on the NIC then when you tried going from your cable modem to your PC directly, that wouldn't work either. Please describe, in detail (which ports, etc), each connection and where the connections are going from/to. Also, please describe the cables you are using. Obviously, the cable that you are using from the cable modem to the PC directly is fine, but please describe the other one that you are using.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 05:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default Re: Netgear Router Problem

OK, so if I have an ethernet (RJ45?) cable from the cable modem directly to the computer (Intel PRO/100 VE), I can use the internet without a problem.

If I then take the same ethernet cable (or any other of my ethernet cables as I've tested all of them) and hook it into my wireless router and then use another ethernet cable to connect my computer to my router the internet does not work. The "I" light on the router is lit, meaning that the router at least thinks it is connected to the internet, but nothing get through to the computer. The router works fine, however, with other modems. My ISP recently gave us a new modem because the old one was faulty.

I'm not sure how to address your question as to which ports are being used because I don't really know what you're referring to, mikesgroovin. Can you be more specific or tell me how to check?
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 02:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default Re: Netgear Router Problem

Any suggestions?
__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sodaen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Default Re: Netgear Router Problem

OH MY GOD, I'm so sorry.

"It figures that part out, but can't ever access the internet. Any ideas?"

I didn't even read that. What bad formality I have sometimes. If it can't reach Internet from a router it could be any number of reasons, the most common: Can not detect signal, followed by not being able to detect the server. It is possible when it tries to connect it needs DHCP but it is statically linked to some false address.

I just wish I could help you in more detail, but those are the two most common reasons.
Sodaen is offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 163
Default Re: Netgear Router Problem

OK, but when I plug directly into the modem I get a great connection. Its just when the connection is routed through the router that I have a problem. I've tested the router with a friend's modem with no trouble, so I know the router works fine.....Can/Should I somehow reset the "false address"??
__________________

__________________
Dell XPS 420
Core 2 Quad Processor Q9300 (2.50GHz 1333FSB) with 6MB cache
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz
256MB Radeon ATI HD 2600 XT
Western Digital 7200 rpm 500GB SATA HDD w/ 16MB DataBurst Cache
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Dell 2408wfp LCD
6X Blu-ray and 16X DVD+/-RW
Altec-Lansing THX certified 5.1 ADA995 Dolby Digital Speakers
Vista Home Premium
fifreak3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major lag online, possible router or modem problem? Triveria Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 07-12-2007 03:56 PM
Router Problem cheezhead18 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 06-28-2007 09:49 PM
help with allowing sites on netgear router hazza Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-14-2007 11:03 PM
D-Link Router problem Zobie Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-27-2007 04:55 PM
Belkin router problem peterhuang913 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 04-25-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.