Neophyte Question - Mobo Compatibility with HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2004, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Default Neophyte Question - Mobo Compatibility with HD

Hello,

I'm purchasing a DFI LanParty 875PRO motherboard, information on it can be found here.

My question is, the second page of actual information on it shows the details of it. I'm wondering whether or not I can use a SATA drive, and what is the differance between SATA vs. ?

Thanks alot to anyone that can help

~Alex
__________________

AlexSP is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 03:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

The DFI Lanparty 875Pro is a real dandy motherboard. Very Fast and stable with enough features to satisfy most people. You wont regret your purchase.

Yes, You can use SATA drives with it. That is Serial ATA versus what are currently the most prevalent drives which are in reality Parallel ATA drives. This board has 4 standard IDE channels so you can add upto eight devices like PATA hard drives and CDROM's, DVD's, etc. You can add upto 2 SATA drives to the motherboard, making a total of 10 drives!!!

SATA drives currently have a theoretical thoroughput of 150 Mb/sec and the highest standard IDE drives only go upto 133 Mb/sec. Once either drive is installed in your system, you wont see any difference as far as accessing them.

A real nice feature is the added Intel Gigabit CSA chip that communicates directly with the MCH (memory controller hub) thus avoiding the overhead imposed by the PCI bus. On my board, the CSA chip somehow uncaps the 768M download restriction imposed by my ISP. I test out at over 3.5M at most of the popular download test sites. The funny thing is when I put an Intel Gigabit PCI card in, it is limited to the 768M/sec download that I pay for.

-Target
__________________

Target is offline  
Old 04-01-2004, 04:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

Look above the CMOS battery then a bit to the left in this picture. Theres 2 black inputs with "SATA" written to the right of em. Those are the SATA ports.
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.