Nehalem OverClock - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2008, 08:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Well I won't buy it regardless, tomorrow I'm buying my stuff to finish off the T.F. Rig...

and I'm most likely to upgrade to either 45nm Phenom or e9150e
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 08:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

how did u find out that peter is leaving i know i saw that he put retired but i dont see no thread about it
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

I was actually thinking that same thing when i read his sig a few hours ago.

Ya, i made a post about this already... I don't believe it myself. Intel is not that stupid...

I think it's just a "pro-amd" rumor spreading around. I don't mind really, I do hope amd comes out with something good.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

So is LGA775 being phased out?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
So is LGA775 being phased out?
yup, that one is a definite yes.
Nehalem won't be compatible with LGA775, because of their IMC

I think their IMC will only support DDR3, which should make the cost of upgrading higher unless DDR3 drops in price significantly.

Personally, without bias against Intel, I would hold off on Nehalem and instead either keep socket 775, or look at what AMD's 45nm chips will do (which, even though they will be socket AM3, will work in socket AM2+)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
how did u find out that peter is leaving i know i saw that he put retired but i dont see no thread about it
We're not allowed to put leave threads anymore

but I think Nehalem is a whole new socket
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:54 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
yup, that one is a definite yes.
Nehalem won't be compatible with LGA775, because of their IMC

I think their IMC will only support DDR3, which should make the cost of upgrading higher unless DDR3 drops in price significantly.

Personally, without bias against Intel, I would hold off on Nehalem and instead either keep socket 775, or look at what AMD's 45nm chips will do (which, even though they will be socket AM3, will work in socket AM2+)
I gotta hand it to AMD, at least they keep the sockets from gaying people.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

& i heard that also,,,,i wonder what there gonna call it...
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 10:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

So, am i gonna regret buying a 775 pc in a few months time?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 10:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

^ prob not...
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
Why I Overclock QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 10 08-22-2007 11:15 PM
Safe overclock speed? Haoming Overclocking and Modding 6 08-01-2007 12:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.