Nehalem OverClock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2008, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Nehalem OverClock

Is this true?

No overclocking on Nehalem!!?? - Overclockers Forums
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Ya unfortunately we discussed it before, and we got really mad, but then we realized that Intel is doing this so people buy more of their enthusiast class chips, but this could give AMD an edge to cut prices for Intel, and maybe eventually they'll open it again..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Your not serious, no overclocking...well that REALLY SUCKS.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Stupid Selfish Intel, just wanting people to get their EE's if they want to overclock, but hey we're truly the winners in this, if AMD makes a hit of a chip, then it'll cause Intel's prices to drop, then we could cheaply recommend Nehalem
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Do we really expect anything more from the company that designed a little known architecture known as NetBurst that was created to operate at high clocks just to trick the consumer?
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 04:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prototype View Post
Just check the original source of the article, it from "fudzilla". Fudzilla is unreliable source

And I don't think this will happen anyway
maroon1 is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 08:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

I read that this might have been intended as a warning that Nehalem would be difficult to overclock and people just misinterpreted it to mean Intel was locking overerclocking.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

look at the bright side, if intel do that, and AMD lets loose a nice OCable chip, people like us will defect to AMD eat that intel!
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 09:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Then Price Drops!! then we could get Nehalem EE for affordable price
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 04:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Nehalem OverClock

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Stupid Selfish Intel, just wanting people to get their EE's if they want to overclock, but hey we're truly the winners in this, if AMD makes a hit of a chip, then it'll cause Intel's prices to drop, then we could cheaply recommend Nehalem
no matter how cheap it is if it dont oc im not recomending it. nor will i use it.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OverClock Checking Tool Osiris Overclocking and Modding 10 03-30-2008 10:01 AM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
Why I Overclock QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 10 08-22-2007 11:15 PM
Safe overclock speed? Haoming Overclocking and Modding 6 08-01-2007 12:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.