Need Urgent Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2004, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Exclamation Need Urgent Help

Hello

My system specs:

Athlon 2500+ Barton
Lanparty NFII ultra
Radeon 9500 Pro (softmodded)
512 Mb PC2700 Corsair OCZ Platinum
Generic 400 Watt PSU
80 Gb WD Caviar

I recently bought a brand new CPU cooler, the Aero 4 Lite. After a bit of force, I removed the stock one and installed this one. I turned on the comp, and decided to do some hardcore overclocking. Being a n00b and very stupid at the time, I increased the FSB from 166 to 200, the multiplier from 11 to 11.5, and the core voltage from 1.600 to 1.675. I exited the BIOS, and the system basically went caput. I panicked, and then erased the BIOS from the mainboard using jumpers, booted up, reset the BIOS, and everything seemed fine, save a few things Windows was complaining about. The problem was, after a short period of time my system shut down. However the POWER LED and DIMM STANDBY LED remain lit. It seems to be somehow linked to temperature, as the longer it was off, the longer it will stay on. I also know that it isn't software related, as it has shutdown during just surfing the net, during a game of HALO, and in the middle of the BIOS. I need to know how to fix this immediately.

Please help me as soon as possible.

Thanks a lot you guys.
__________________

Biohazardous is offline  
Old 01-28-2004, 11:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Wow, thats a tough one. The only thing I can possibly think of would be that you somehow screwed your processor when you took the old heatsink off, but that wouldn't make sense either. Sorry I am thinking about it as I type. LOL

Maybe you screwed your ram slots up. I tried overclocking my processor from 133 to 134, and I fried my all my ram slots. I have no idea how it happened but it did.

Hope this helps a little

Imaxle
__________________

Imaxle is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 10:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

When you installed the new heatsink/fan, did you clean the old gunk off the cpu first and apply some thermal compound, before re-seating the new HS/fan?
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Yeah, that's what I was thinking. It sounds like you are overheating, and if you didn't put new thermal paste on you will really have some heat problems.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.