Need to Upgrade old PC. HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Exclamation Need to Upgrade old PC. HELP!

Hello Everyone!

I got an old PC that I'd like to Upgrade, it's a Pentium 566Mhz I believe with 256MB of RAM. basically what I want to do is get a new (Strong) processor, something that runs at 1800Mhz or so, and a New Graphic card, and possibly upgrade the RAM to 512.

do you guys think that's possible (and will it make the PC more robust), or do i run the risk of completly ruining the computer and wasting money while doing it?

I would really really appreciate your help on this!
__________________

anaselg is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Do you want to use your existing hardware? Or, do you want to start from scratch? Also let us know what kind of budget you have.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You will be replacing the motherboard and CPU for sure, the ram, the power supply most likely, almost a new PC.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Well, I want to use my current hardware, Budget is pretty tight that's why Im not thinking about buying a new computer...

after looking at the prices, I might go for the AMD Duron 1800 S-A, 1,80GHz, 64KB, 266MHz FSB

cheers
anaselg is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

why the Power Supply ?
anaselg is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You cant just take that CPU and plug it into the slot where your Pentium is. If it is a Pentium II, then maybe you could get a PIII and upgrade that way. I think the highest frequency you could get a PIII was 1GHz(could be wrong).
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by anaselg
why the Power Supply ?
He meant if you get a whole lot of new parts, they would need extra power.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

if it were me, i'd buy a cheap socket 478 mobo and slap a 2.4gig celeron in. Probably looking at about 200 bucks right there.
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

To be honest you'd be better off buying a new computer rather than upgrading. It would probably be a better investment in the long run.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.