Need Super Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2004, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Default Need Super Help

ok heres what im ruuning::

p4 3.2 ghz
2048mb memory
gigabyte 8knxp-ultra motherboard
1 cd-burner
1 dvd drive
1 floppy
80gig seagte ata100 hard drive
sb audigy sound card
ati radeon 9800 xt video card
win tv tuner card
56k modem
and a 300 watt power supply

ok when im using my comp it just resets for no reason like as if i pressed the reset button (it does'nt turn off it just resets.). im wondering if itz because my power supply is only 300 watts (or is that enough). i already formatted and reinstalled the o.s so and the problem keeps happening so i know that it is not a virus or anything. can someone tell me if this is a motherboard or power supply problem or whatever ??
__________________

0vatyme is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to mdominy7
Default

you might wanna boost up the power supply.. I have a similar setup w/ a 2.6ghz AMD, 1gig of ram, epox mb, cd-burner, 1 floppy, 40 gig seagate, ati radeon 9800 pro. I have a 500 watt power supply and it seems sufficient. I would recommend that you get a higher wattage power supply definately. That could be the problem. Try that first.. then move on.
__________________

mdominy7 is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Yes, you are probably taxing that 300 watt PSU to the limit.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 02:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

agreed, if you cant get a bigger power supply, try removing some components and see if the problem persists. if the problem goes away then get a bigger ps and put the components back in.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 03:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Try this Link out for the PSU Requirements. http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
You're definitely working that PSU too Hard.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Don't forget, you can not "over power" your system with an upgraded PSU. For example, if you require a minimum of 300 watts PSU, then you should buy something bigger..maybe 430 or more watts. This way you have room to add components in the future.

Also...you get what you pay for with PSU's...don't go cheap. Buy well known, brand name units with good reviews.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

a must is buy well built psu(s) a crap one will take your systme out. Id say thats a little under powered possably go to 350w maybe even 400w but no need to go above that. im sorry 500w is overkill and is not cost affective
XT is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 05:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I use Antec PSU's & am very happy with them if that's any help.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.