need for speed keeps freezing!!!!!!!!!!!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 03:29 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Which model of the Radeon 9200 do you have????

9200
9200 SE
9250

ALSO, is it:

AGP
PCI (not PCI express... just plain old vanilla PCI.)


Thirdly, I can garuntee you that your PC is gonna crap itself with that game if you can't play NFS... You need to upgrade that video card, or save up and upgrade the whole system.

EDIT: The Abit Guru AN7 has an AGP slot...
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

the whole system? are you joking me?
2Ghz sempron 2800
Guru An7
250gb hdd
512ddr - soon to be 1.5drr
__________________

__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:32 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gust_nul
no! my board is a guru AN7!!!

So you have agp on that then,Try looking at 6600GT's or even better the 6800GS,The 6800GS play's most of today's game's no problem and really don't rape your wallet
Shumway is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

get a 6600gt...

I have both nfsmw and godfather

nfsmw plays medium to full settings

and god father can be maxed out...

and my pc is older than yours (useing 4x agp)

I'd suggest saveing up for that card /\

you might look around for a used one (agp is getting expencive/being phased out)
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:34 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

ok then agp 9200

Im only 15 and i dont have the money right now, so what do you think i should go for first? the memory (and how much exactly)

or the new graphics card?
thanks for the help
__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:37 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

whats the best card make by the way?
__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:37 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

new gfx card

and if you find a good deal probably around $100 maybe even lower for an Nvidia Geforce 6600GT
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:38 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

oh and also.... lol
I had need for speed 2 and it worked perfectly, that was the game i played cause i got bored of gaming, I take it that game was made different to the new ones out??
__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:40 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

doesn't take nearly as much to run that game... (next gen stuff = godfather and nfsmw)

also... you have an ati card now?

make sure you remove all the ati drivers before installing an nvidia card
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:40 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 138
Default

only 100?! oh right i thought it was going to be like 300, thats fine.

6600GT
6800GS
6800GS

which one???
__________________

__________________
Free xbox360!!
Click here for a Free xbox 360
gust_nul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.