Need for speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2003, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3
Default Need for speed

I've heard a whole bunch of times that a 700 or 800 mhz computer can pretty much handle most of what people usually use a computer for. It was said that this will be true for some time to come. If this is true, why should people feel the rush to go out an purchase a computer with intels latest megaleap in spead? What's the real difference between a 3.0 ghz machine with 256mb of ram and a 1.5 ghz machine with 1 gb of ram?

Pallen is offline  
Old 03-11-2003, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338

the way it turns heads at lan parties. ^_^

Seloce is offline  
Old 03-11-2003, 06:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200

its the need to get the best possible machine.. MORE POWER!! *grunts like tim taylor on home improvement

Sure i have an 1800+xp athlon, do i need it?? naw. .its just because i wanted the best specs for my computer when i purchased all the parts and put it together.

also, you never know what programs, that are more hardware dependant, might be coming out in the future.

imation is offline  
Old 03-16-2003, 11:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 99

Hmmm, higher speed for the CPU allows job processing to be faster. Having higher RAM allow more task to be done, with lesser dependency on Paging of ur Hdd. Also, More RAM shorten the time require for the Paging File of the OS to relay the info to the CPU. But, a 3Ghz machine with 256MB in general case will run faster than a 1.5Ghz with 1GB RAM. The latter, relatively more stable when it comes to loading more applications or services.
PIV 2.6Ghz w HT 512k Cache 800Mhz FSB
Twinmos 1GB DC 400 CL2.5
120GB IBM 7200RPM w 2MB cache
120GB Maxtor 7200RPM w 8MB cache
Nvidia FX5200 128MB
Philips SXGA 150S4 15\" LCD
Cooler Mastor Centurion
Global WIN Cooling System
TDK Cyclone 48X24X28X CDRW
Panasonic FDD
Intel PRO 10/100 TX
Sigma IrDA Port
PixelView FM/TV Pro
James is offline  
Old 03-16-2003, 11:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 146

Having a high speed CPU is only to have the best possible configuration at best prices....or to have the fastest computer in your much speed is not really needed..
\"To Err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer\"
Zagadka is offline  
Old 03-17-2003, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 15

Why are you comparing a 3.06 with 256MB to a 1.5 with 1G
The 1.5 is going to run slower because it has alot more memory to scan through. The difference between a 3.06 and a 1.5 with the same amount of memory noticably in programs and video games would be nothing unless your running something very extensive on it of course.

DeveloperX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.