Need Some Quick Advise - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2005, 02:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

u have aim?
easier to talk

sooooooo your basically looking at a whole new computer
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default

lildelinkwent2
__________________

Delinkwent is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

hyperthreading does not necessarily give you a performance increase. in some cases it actually slows your computer down

like said above, going from 2.6GHZ to 3.2GHZ is not going to be a big leap

for gaming, the Athlon 64's are actually a lot better, and most of the time a fair bit cheaper than Pentium 4's.
I'm not going to be one sided and say "pentium 4's are crap" however, if you do upgrade, I would recommend a new motherboard also, even if not for AMD.
chances are, your current motherboard cannot support the 800MHZ FSB of the higher end Pentium 4's
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Just get a prescott. The northwoods are more expensive since prescott is starting to take over the P4 market. It is a supply and demand issue
phenomenon.

Also yes they run hot, but they can handle the extra degrees without a problem. Also heat should not be a problem if you have proper cooling. And the proper cooling is a stock HSF with the thermal pad.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default

hmm... how do u figure that i cant support a 800mhz fsb?..
Delinkwent is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:58 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well, I'm not saying that it definately can't, but cosidering the CPU is a 2.6GHZ P4 or celeron, the CPU's with an 800MHZ FSB are/were not common for that speed.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 03:09 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default

hmm no its not that.. my cousin had given me his old case which he had a 2.8ghz HT stock.. and i jus put my old processor in it.. but it can handle a 800mhz fsb btw...
Delinkwent is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 03:21 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default

btw... im a rookie in oc'ing.... wat programs do u use to do it?
Delinkwent is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 03:50 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 35
Default

... im tired... sorry if im a little impatient...
Delinkwent is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:45 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

for overclocking your CPU, you would usually go into your BIOS.
on boot, it will say "press [some key] to enter setup"
press that key

then try and find CPU or FSB options.
to overclock your CPU, you can increase the FSB, or increase the multiplier.
your total CPU speed is a product of your FSB (the speed it talks to RAM) multiplied by the multiplier.
my (slow) CPU is a Pentium 3 933MHZ, it has a FSB of 133MHZ and a multiplier of 7
I've overclocked it now to 150MHZ FSB, now it is at 150x7=1050MHZ

I would recommend if you can, to actually lower the multiplier so you can raise the FSB more. most CPU's have a "locked" multiplier, meaning you can't change it. but if you can, it is often good to use it.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.