Need some help on decision... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2004, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Need some help on decision...

Okay well I found out I will be getting my new computer in a few months. But I'm a big gamer and would hate to wait that long till I can start gaming smoothly again so was wondering how much money should I spend on upgrading gaming performance on this comp?

I have the worst computer on the forums so, yeah...
Pentium III
Windows 98
128MB SD Ram
25 Gig HD
Radeon 7000

I basically play mostly EverQuest and zoning is very frustrating to me and I've noticed that occasionally, my computer freezes up with the red light on my tower blinking for about 15 seconds or so. I'm basically looking to upgrade on ram so that I can have a smaller zoning time particularly to one minute. If anyone knows any good cheap 512 SD PC100 rams on sale, please post a link. Thanks in advance.
__________________

JeffK91 is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

You don't have the worst computer on the forum. TheMajor has a 200MHZ computer. I wouldn't upgrade, since your parts won't take that much new stuff. Just save up and build a new one.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 10:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

how much clock ur CPU has?

and RAM should be definately upgraded. at leat make it 256
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

yeah i'd save up as well...either way, put at least 256mb MORE into it.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.