Need some Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2003, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ThatsMyWord21
Unhappy Need some Help

Ok i am new to the forums and am happy i found them because lots of people on here look to be happy to help thers. My problem is my PC reboots while playing 3D games... I have just upgraded from a GeForce 2 to a Geforce FX 5600 ultra 256... My system specs are AMD 1600+, 512 Kingston pc2700 ram, Epox 87ka+ mobo, 80 gig WD hard drive with 8 mb cache... When i was using my Geforce 2 this was not happening... I do not think it is the vid card because if I underclock my clock speeds to 100/200 i have not crashed once... I am hoping it is my Power Supply because it is a cheapo 420 watt ( $20 ). Also when i do a restart the PC shuts down and just stays on a black screen untill i hit the reset button on the case... I have the newest drivers for everything and i have formatted 2 times to try to fix this problem... I think it is a PSU problem but i just want some people who know a lot about these things to give me an opinion... I will reall appriciate any help... THANK YOU
__________________

ThatsMyWord21 is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to jon15n
Default

Did you build this computer yourself or was it bought manufactured?
I have never myself come across such a faulty power supply, or one that would be as messed up as you think it may be..
Do any STOP error's come up in Windows indicating specific problems? Please reply with the version of Windows you are currently on.
Is the BIOS updated?
You have to consider that psu's are fairly simple parts..I'm just not sure if that would be the problem, especially considering the fact that when you to a plain restart there are problems... It may be your motherboard. Feed us some more specs and we will hopefully be able to help you figure this out.
__________________

__________________
Intel P4 2.8GHz H/T
1.5GB PC2700
160GB HD
Windows XP Professional
jon15n is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ThatsMyWord21
Unhappy

The version of windows i have is XP Pro... The bios is updated and everything... When i bought my new vid card everything was fine for a couple weeks then i would get maybe 1 or 2 reboots a day and it has gotten worse to the point i cant get 2 min of gameplay in without it rebooting... I am upset because i spent about 400 dollars on games in the past couple months and now i feel like i waisted my money cause i cant even play them... I formatted a couple times and changed every setting possible in my Nvidia settings and tried every Nvidia drver known to man and nothing helps... I hope spending 60 bucks on a good PSU helps... Are there any other specs you would like to know of?
ThatsMyWord21 is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ThatsMyWord21
Default

I dont think it is the card... If it was the card wouldnt it still crash even if i had my system underclocked?... I have my processor running at normal speeds (1050Ghz) and my system hasnt crashed yet... as soon as i set it to 133 (1.4 Ghz) i cant play any games for longer than 2 minutes
ThatsMyWord21 is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ThatsMyWord21
Default

Sorry i wrote that wrong... I have my computer set at 100/200 which is lower than my normal speeds... My normal speeds are 133 and when i have it running at normal speeds i crash... when underclocked i dont crash... sorry
ThatsMyWord21 is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ThatsMyWord21
Default

I did go into my control panel and uncheck the box that says dont automaticaly restart and it still does... Yes this only happens when playing 3d games... I was told the my PSU isnt good enough for the vid card I am running because it was a cheapo one ( 20 bucks ) Turbo Link 420 watt
ThatsMyWord21 is offline  
Old 12-25-2003, 06:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you suspect it than just replace it to see, what did you expect for $20? 420watt for $20 doesn't even make sense. look to spend at least about $50 for a 420watt power supply. i can recommend enlight 420watt, they only have one model in that watt range so it is easy to find it newegg.com
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-25-2003, 10:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ThatsMyWord21
Default

Yea I know it was a little cheap of me but i was tight on cash at the moment... I think I will get a new PSU but i just wanted to get some opinons to see if u guys thought that was the problem... Here is a link to the PSU i bought maybe there are more people who had problems with this one.

http://www.buyxtremegear.com/turlin420wat.html
__________________

ThatsMyWord21 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.