Need some cables - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2005, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default Need some cables

I need some cables, but I'm not sure as to what they are called.

Resolution on 1080i HDTV
I have an eVGA 6800 GT, and I am able to hook it up via s-video to my 53" Sony 1080i HDTV. I can only reach a max resolution of 1024x768. I know that HDTVs run at very low resolutions, but is there any way to make the screen more clear by buying another cable? I have seen ATI cards that have HDTV support by including an s-video cable that has 3 digital video cables (teal, red, blue) on one end with the s-video on the other end. Would using that instead of the standard s-video cable increase quality/resolution?

Connect to TV
In order to get sound, I have to hook up the computer directly to my sound system using a digital cable. Obviously this is better than the standard, but I may want to hook this up to another tv which isn't hooked up to a sound system. Is there any way I can hook it up to the tv? I just use my onboard audio. I think I may need one of these cables that has a headphone-size jack on one side that splits to a red/white l/r ends.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Go to radio shack
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default Re: Need some cables

Quote:
Originally posted by Calzinger
I need some cables, but I'm not sure as to what they are called.
That obviously implies that I need the names of the types of cables. I don't think "the orange thingey" would get me anywhere.

*
Would using one of these s-video to HDTV cables even increase resolution/quality? I can't even read anything on my TV now with the standard s-video cable.

I'm looking for a cable shown below. It's the second cable from the right.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

Well it sounds like your tv supports a maximum HD resolution 1080i. To get that out of your video card, you would have to use the High Definition cables that should of came with your video card. In the pciture, it's the one with the blue, red, and green connectors on one end. Using a converter from S-Video to component wouldn't gain you any quality.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KorKwin
Well it sounds like your tv supports a maximum HD resolution 1080i. To get that out of your video card, you would have to use the High Definition cables that should of came with your video card. In the pciture, it's the one with the blue, red, and green connectors on one end. Using a converter from S-Video to component wouldn't gain you any quality.
My GPU didn't come with that cable. Does this mean that it is incapable of putting out that 1080i resolution? Or can I buy the cable?
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

I think you can buy an adapter that goes from DVI to component.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

I searched newegg and was only able to find ATI-compatible ones. Can you send me a link for an nVidia one?

And would using one of these adapters increase quality? What resolution would I be running this at?
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 11:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

I just found this: DVI-I Dual link Male to 3 RCA component Female Adapter w/ DIP Switch.

Would that work with my nVidia 6800 GT? Is that a reliable website to order from?

And I still am wondering "will it increase quality?" and "what resolution would I be running at?".
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 11:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

It should definately increase quality. But I haven't worked with HD and graphics cards together so I don't know what resolution you could use.
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.