Need a Socket 478 Case/Power Supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default Need a Socket 478 Case/Power Supply

I have a socket 478 motherboard (P4S5A) and I'm looking for a case and a power supply to put it in. I don't know what it is compatable with. I don't want a fancy case, just a simple one to hold the motherboard. Can anyone help?

Thanks, Jeremy

PS, M.board specs are Here
__________________

JTG2003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 03:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

newegg.com
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 04:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

now a days every PSU comes with the 12v CPU power supply as well, so u dont have to worry,

see eBay for your choice.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
now a days every PSU comes with the 12v CPU power supply as well, so u dont have to worry,

see eBay for your choice.
^^ yes, exactly right.

i just transfered my 478 socket mobo out to an Enermax case and 350PSU and it went in without a hitch.

however, my only complaint is that the new case split the front iso's apart so it is not easy to connect the USB and mic etc to the mobo, cause i don't have any manuals for it.

but any case now should be fine...just make sure you see a 20pin connector on it. you'll be fine.
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

My only concern was the board fitting into the case. Is there any specific specifications I'm looking for on the case?
JTG2003 is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

i'll take a wild guess and say your mobo is an ATX Micro board.

you can purchase ANY case that specifies:

ATX
micro ATX

your board, i think would be 9" x 9"

so any case that has at least those specs.
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

buy ATX casing, it will support both uATX and ATX boards (unless u r gonna plan a serve motherboard)
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
buy ATX casing, it will support both uATX and ATX boards (unless u r gonna plan a serve motherboard)
^^ditto,

yeah get a regular ATX case, so you have some "room to grow" in the future.

micro's a little too small, condensed tend to get hotter than normal ATX cases.
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default Re: Need a Socket 478 Case/Power Supply

Quote:
Originally posted by JTG2003
I have a socket 478 motherboard (P4S5A) and I'm looking for a case and a power supply to put it in. I don't know what it is compatable with. I don't want a fancy case, just a simple one to hold the motherboard. Can anyone help?

Thanks, Jeremy

PS, M.board specs are Here
oops!! sorry, didn't check your mobo's specs..

hmm, you're right it doesn't say you have onboard graphics, weird, sorry.

but it does say it's an ATX board,

so definately get any ATX case, NOT micro ATX.
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

good thing in buying a ATX casae, and late uising uATX board is that, you'll be left with some extra space at bottom of the casing/motherboard. where you can store your shacks to get warmed up before wating. hehehe, kidding, dont try that though. or i wont be responsible of growling sounds from the stomach of ur motherboard because of food's smell.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.