need a short quick answer in 15 minutes.....plzzzzzz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

I have an old p2 with 440bx chipset DFI board with a 400mhz intel processor and 3 slots of ram in which i m using 64 mb ram in each. I just found a few 128 mb rams on sale but i dunno if they fit on this board and which one is better

Just answer me should i buy one and which one?

The twwo rams are...

Toshiba 128mb PC100 sdram single sided

MT 128 mb sdram double sided.

I m bidding and its goona be over in a few minutes so just a very quick answer plz
__________________

softhunder is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Is anybody here?
I just lost the double sided ram so just tell me if toshiba pc100 sdram does fit with my system
__________________

softhunder is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Well, you haven't given us enough to work with.
Run CPU-Z or EVEREST and that should answer your question.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I presume you are using pc100 ram in that board. 128mb sticks of pc100 should work but you need to give us the sysinfo related to the onboard memory type just to be sure. REmeber, those old boards have a max ram capacity of 512mb.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 02:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Ok , I ran belarc advisor and i got these results

Processor a Main Circuit Board b
400 megahertz Intel Pentium II
32 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: 440BX A
Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
BIOS: Award Software International, Inc. 4.51 PG 08/05/98
Drives Memory Modules c,d
11.99 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
1.48 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

HP CD-Writer+ 8200a [CD-ROM drive]
3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

Generic USB CF Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 4
Generic USB MS Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 6
Generic USB SD Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 3
Generic USB SM Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 5
ST31720A [Hard drive] (1.71 GB) -- drive 2, s/n GFBLXMS, rev 0.42, SMART Status: Healthy
ST31720A [Hard drive] (1.71 GB) -- drive 1, s/n GFC9CWP, rev 0.57, SMART Status: Healthy
ST38641A [Hard drive] (8.61 GB) -- drive 0, s/n VR529534, rev 3.05, SMART Status: Healthy 192 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot '0' has 64 MB
Slot '1' has 64 MB
Slot '2' has 64 MB

ATI Technologies Inc. 3D RAGE IIC AGP [Display adapter]
Default Monitor

Intel(R) 82371AB/EB PCI to USB Universal Host Controller
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea sure go ahead i dont see why not
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default

does this mean that i can buy single or double sided pc100 sd ram and both will be compatible with my pc? And which one is better?
__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 02:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default one last question

Is pc133 ram compatible for the slots which r made for pc100 sdram?
__________________
P5AD2-E-Premium
Intel 3.0 ghz 640j
Leadtek 6600gt extreme PCI-E
corsair 5400 (2 * 512)
bZerk vigor 500w
3R 202 case
Logitech z-680 5.1 speakers
Creative XFI external sound card
softhunder is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 07:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yes.

But I do know that SDRAM is very picky........... So no guarentee that it will work. But theoritically PC-133 will work in PC-100, it will just underclock itself.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 08:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Do you have double sided or single sided RAM in there now
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.