Need Reinstall Windows Me Advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2004, 11:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Need Reinstall Windows Me Advice

As of late my computer has been acting up lately. Desktop folders wont open programs freeze for no particular reason and games wont work, everything is just messed up. I have tried running Norton Antovirus 2004 and it finds 3 possible adware threats but no real dangerous viruses. The guys at my local comp tech stoe want $250 to reinstall windows and clean my comp up/give me a system restore disk. Now my question is i have a Windows ME disk, can i reinstall it myself? it can delete all my programs, but at the same time if i reinstall it will it get rid of all the problems at the same time, whatever adware or viruses that i have. All advie appreciated.

Genderhawk
__________________

Genderhawk is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Your best option if you have to reinstall windows me then the best option is save your data on another hard drive, wipe your orginal one, by deleting the partiton, recreating the partition, and then installing windows.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Ok...wow.

1st: The computer techs are full of crap, it takes 2 hours at the most to do this.

2nd: Dont do anything until you download www.lavasoftusa.com the free version of AD-AWARE
A: Once you have the personal version installed, check for updates. Then click "Start." Then find "Customize" check all of the computers Hard Drive and make sure "Scan within archives" is checked. After all of that scan and Quarantine anything the scan found and then delete it and the backups (a little lock Icon on the top of the screen).

3rd: If that doesnt work, do you know how to reformat a computer?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 11:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 67
Default

i suggest like said before run the newest version of adaware, if that doesnt do it then i would reformat the HD,reload windows ME then by an upgrade to XP for about $80, ME is a very unstabile OS in todays enviroment
__________________
CODEPOET

P4 - 2.8Ghz
800Mb front bus
512Mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
160GB Western Digita HD
128Mb ATI Radeon 9500 Video
HP 300 internal 4x/48x DVD/CD-RW
TDK 440n external 4x/40x DVD Dual format
Microsoft wireless keyboard & mouse
18.1 viewable Mitsubishi LCD monitor
2 5-port 2.0 USB cards with internal firewire
1-3 port firewire card
MODDED case with 12x12 window
all UV cables
2 80mm lighted exhaust fans
2 UV PCI exhaust fans
(looks like i wont need any xmas lights! lol)
Creative Sound blaster audigy2 card
Sicuro Titanium XL speakers
Windows XP PRO sp2
thats just the basics and growing!

IF YOU\'RE NOT LIVING ON THE EDGE YOU\'RE TAKING UP TOO MUCH SPACE!
CODEPOET is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

im downloading this ad-adware now, but wat is reformatting?
Genderhawk is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

reformating is when you erase your drive so its completely empty of all data. then you would do a fresh install of your os.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Reformat

Hey
Its really easy to reformat and reinstall.Just put your win ME disk in the cdrom and restart your computer when it starts restaeting if your computer is set up right it will boot off your cd ron if not there are a few different options for booting off the cdrom.You can try tapping the F12 key as soon as the computer starts booting and when the menu comes up pick the boot off the cdrom.
If that dosnt work when the puter boots tap the delete key to go into your bios and set the boot options to boot from the A: first CDRom 2nd Hard drive 3rd then tap F10 to save and exit.Then restart.Once it boots just follow the menu and do a install.If that dosnt explane everything let me no and Ill try to explane more.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 12:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Come to think of it Im not sure if windows Me will give you the option to format.If not get a windows 98 disk or a hard drive disk like the western digital diag disk and use that for reformating.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 12:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

if u have the Win Me & the Cd is bootable u can format ur C partition ...
but as u boot with the CD-rom support go 2 the CD rom & enter the installation folder of the winME & u can format it ...
u can reinstall the win me without formating ( if u have no Adwares or viruses ) it will b good if theere r problems just in the system ... u can install it from the folder c:\windows\install\setup.exe
BROKENWINGS is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Heres a suggestion that might save you haveing to reformat your drive...get a little program called Registry Healer....I've found this little piece of software can cure 90% of the errors i've had on my machine and it might work just as well for your situation.
__________________

Tetsueo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.