need quick help please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2004, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to dantheman12588 Send a message via Yahoo to dantheman12588
Default need quick help please!

alright my friend woke up the other day and when he turned on his computer it all seemed to start up but the monitor never turned on it just kept the power saving light thing on and the computer never made the beep sound when it started up but the mouse and the keyboard lit up but the HDD activity light didnt blink except when he first turned it on for like 1 sec and the power light doesnt come on yet the modem and the keyboard and the mouse and his cd rom all work and turn on and they are all plugged in to usb ports except his keyboard and motherboard, but yeah anyway so im thinking its the HDD cuz he has some old *** 10 gig peice of **** HDD but the stupid techs at frys said it was the motherboard but i seriously doubt its that cuz its pretty new and its all in really good condition also im starting to beleive maybe the video card burnt out or something but i doubt that too cuz its rather new its a geforce 4 mx420, but i just want to see what you guys think before he goes out and buys a new hdd today, thanks

dantheman12588 is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976

oooff... Try to use punctuation mate, that hurt my eyes

Anyway, if there's no activity from the HD then for starters double-check all the physical connections; the power and IDE connections to the HD, also the motherboard ATX cable. Check the power light on the motherboard is on.

I can't think of anything else at the minute, someone else will no doubt post something more intricate. Good luck with that one, I know the situation you're in right now ...

EDIT: What motherboard are you using? If there's no 'beep' coming from the MoBo then try resetting the CMOS battery. Check your manual if you're unsure.

AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592

Look at the capacitors on the board, and make sure none of them have blown. If they have, the board is toast. I had the same problem with a new build I did a few months ago, it turned on, but the hard drive wasn't spinning, and I got nothing on the display. Turns out it was the motherboard was dead. If you really think its the hard drive, see if you can get your hands on an old one, and replace it to see if it fixes it. But it sounds like the board. What are the specs on the system? Cause by the sounds of it, it looks old. So even if the board was dead you could pick up a new one for $40-$50. Out of all the parts in any of the systems I have ever built motherboards were always the first to go, sometimes at completely random times.
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

Doubt its the HDD. If the HDD was bad, you should still get a screen but with the error o/s not found or non bootable drive/diskette, or some other various error. More than likely, I would try to reseat the vid card, mem, CPU also check the amount of paste on the CPU (if he just put it on, that is), try reseating one at a time and see if that helps. I'm guessing he gets an orange light on the monitor or blinking light. If that doesn't help, next step is to remove EVERYTHING to a barebones system. Just have the vid, mem, HDD, and CPU only. No cdrom, floppy, keyboard, mouse, etc. Yes, you'll get a kbd error but right now were just trying to get a screen. Finally if that doesn't work, remove the MBD from the case and put it on something non conductive (like antistatic or rubber or whatnot, just not on the carpet). This is to make sure the MBD is not grounding out to the case. He DID use plastic supports for the screws?? Otherwise, he's probably gounding to the case. Main thing is, I would probably rule out the HDD. You could remove the HDD and see if you get a screen, though.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.