Need a power supply advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2005, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default Need a power supply advice

Hello everyone!
I have a question. Would this powersupply be enough to use it with a GeForce6800 Ultra? I know this is a power hungry monster so I need to get something better than the 420W power supply which only pumps out 12 AMPs.
Btw. other things that will be hooked up to the mobo (with 1GB Ram and 3500 WInchester, I'm not sure if those make much difference):
1 SATA hard drive, 1 optical drive, 1 pci sound card, 1 pci wireless access card, and the 6800 Ultra. (As you can see im not very big on things storage and such)
Link:
Powa supply
__________________

Person is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default

that looks like a pretty cheap psu, here is won i found that is a 500w and is about 60bucks and looks awsome and got five star rating

psu
__________________

socom234 is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Well, the price is important for me, as of now im buying the final components with money I don't yet have. It was all nice and dandy in the beginning but cash got a little low towards the end .
Person is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Both of those really look bad IMO. Watts don't mean anything.

Waht you want is the most amps per rail you can find in your price range and in the category of watts you need.

Say you have a 500watter with only 15A on the 12v, and a 450watter with 34A on the 12v. 90% of the time you won't be needing 500watts to power your PC even if you run multiple HDD's lots of CD-roms, fans, everything like that. the 450watter would be ALOT more stable than the 500watt in this comparison.

Look for the most amps per rail you can find with a PSU ~450watts or more in your rpice range. Don't be fooled by a 600watter for $40, it's absolute crap if it's that cheap.

12v minimum should be 20A IMO, that's usually the make or break rail
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

How about this one?
24 amps at 12
Powa supply
Person is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

This one has excellent amperage on the +12v rail, it's the one recommended earlier http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...48-005&depa=1.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Im just not sure I will ever need that much power. But then again who knows.. I might have to go with that one .
:beard:
Person is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
This one has excellent amperage on the +12v rail, it's the one recommended earlier http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...48-005&depa=1.
what is it? it doesnt list the amps for any of the rails.


Quote:
Im just not sure I will ever need that much power. But then again who knows.. I might have to go with that one .
the one you listed earlier was 580watts lmao. it looked pretty good spec wise, but for $32 i wouldn't trust it to last more than a year.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...182-010&depa=0
^^^ only $60, reputable brand, whopping 35A on 12v, 50A on 5v, 30A on 3.3v, awesome paint job and big LED fan. i think that is a kiler PSU if you are on a budget.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 09:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Yes it does, just look at the pictures provided, ones of the sticker on the back. Wish I saw that one before I bought mine, although its not crapping up yet.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 09:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Bought it, wish me luck .
__________________

Person is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.