Need opinons on building a pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 10:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Indeed it is. Have a look at this thread at DFI-Street to see for yourself of its overclocking potential.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Indeed it is. Have a look at this thread at DFI-Street to see for yourself of its overclocking potential.

i dont get it, all its talking about when its going to come out, but i read a review on a guy who went from 1.8 to 2.6 NOW THATS GOOD OCing, but then you need to oc your ram or you can just buy higher speed ram, but i really dont know how to OC ram so i got to research that

SO i guess im going with the

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136161
__________________

PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

basically i got everything down except the ram,

RAM HELP TIME
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

When you overclock your RAM, you actually are overclocking the FSB of you CPU. Because your RAM is directly connected to your FSB, the RAM overclocks as well.

You have noticed RAM that is higher than PC3200. If you were to take that faster RAM and put it into an unoverclocked system, it would just run at PC3200 (which an unoverclocked CPU defaults its RAM to).

Have a look at the stickies at the top of the Overclocking forum. There is a really good chance that all of your OCing questions will be answered from those.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ok, so the ram OCs with the CPU, ...got it, cause all i know is to make the FSB x the multipler = the speed and you alwas want to make the FSB the higher or HTT as in amds i think. so tahts all i got from this

http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=52812

ill go check out that ocing forum you told me to go and ill write back
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

umm, yeah ok

now i neeed ram for good gaming for my system
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 10:27 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ok im starting over,

im getting a DFI UT NF3 ULTRA-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra ATX AMD motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136161

with the venice 3000+
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

now for ram, im having a hard time either OZC

this has the samsung TCCD chip thingy
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227213

or PQI which i dont htkn has the samsun TCCD for 103 dollars with 20 dollar rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141154


the aspire ATC-AS500 12V ATX 500 WATT POWER SUPPLY

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148005


and my case
aspire x infinity atxb6klw-al/350 silver steel mid tower coomputer acse 350 watt power supply
http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...82E16811144077
__________________

PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.