need opinion... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2006, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default need opinion...

My parents, as i had told, just bought a Toshiba laptop for $899, about 2 months ago...

Well my father wanted a new laptop for photo editing, so he went to Future Shop, and looked for a large-screen powerful laptop. And yes, i steered him into AMD's direction for once . There was an Intel with dual-core, but the battery life was rediculous. 2 HRS total, and this one is 5 hours total.


This was the laptop that was purchased:
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...0073561&catid=

HP Pavilion DV8220
AMD Turion 64 ML-37 2.0 Ghz, 1MB cache, 1600 mhz FSB.
512MB RAM -> Doubled to 1GB.
160GB HD (2 80GB, 1 8GB for recovery)
17" Widescreen (its nice)
6-in-1 card reader
Lots of HP crap installed.
Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...gon=&langid=EN

Also had a free printer, after mail-in-rebate. So now i have a printer, pretty awesome! HP Deskjet 5440...
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...0065943&catid=


What do you think of the new laptop?

EDIT - Installed Microsoft Digital Image Suite instead. Does same things.

Also, is AMD turion a good processor? I dunno, its AMD...so you guys must have an opinion on it.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 02:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

It seems good to me.
__________________

fuz_master is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 03:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

not some HP peice of junk?

Also, what are AMD turions like? Very good or bad? I dont know Jack about AMD
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 03:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

YAh AMD is good through and through. Just remember to remove all the stupid stuff you dont want, that HP packs into it.
fuz_master is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 03:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

yes, i had to do that. However its not my laptop, and my dad wants norton on it

luckily, it expires in 2 months.
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.