need a new video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 09:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default need a new video card

im new with cmputers and dont know much so bare with me . i built a new computer awhile back ago .i have a amd 2400+ cpu , an asus a7n8x mobo , and video card. i forgot which one. just couple days ago my video card fried. so now im wondering which one to get. i have no clue which ones are compatible. i talked to this guy and he told me to look at the stats, but i have no clue what to look at. i was looking at the GeForce 6200 AGP 256MB and the gf 4 ti 4200. are those any good. and can it work with my setup. im trying to spend no more the $100 thanks
__________________

abctiger is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

anyone?
__________________

abctiger is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

What games are you looking to play?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102510
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

no more then 100? hmm... try to save the best u can and live off of interegrated stuff but if not and if u rele rele need it, try this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814103165

i mean itl get u games like cs, d2,sc, and other late 90s to early 2000 games. but i recomend saving to 200 and get a 6600gt
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

For a little more, you can get a 6600GT, maybe about $150, maybe a little less.

If you really want to stay under $100, maybe a 9800pro. A 6600GT is A LOT more powerful though.

edit - heres a link for the 6600GT.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

You should definitely get a 6600GT
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Don't listen to them. They all reccomend 6600GT because they think you need to run stuff like doom3 on medium settings. Just stick to your budget.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 01:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

Hacp: hmm ok so he sticks to his budget, then 3 months down the road, he picks up BF2, guess what he cant play it. So he has to spend more money to get another video card. Or he either borrows some money, or saves up, and gets a 6600gt, then 3 months down the road he gets BF2 guess what He can play it, and shouldnt have to upgrade for a while.
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 01:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

they're nothing good for the money below the 6600GT
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 06:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I doubt that game makers would alienate people like that. Not everyone has a top of the line video card.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.