Need new processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2005, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Need new processor

Ok first off, right now I'm running a 2.4 Pentium, but it's not cutting it anymore. I need a new one that can flawlessly handle games like BattleField 2, Doom3, Half Life 2 etc..... I really have no idea what I want to get, mainly because I'm very inexperienced when it comes to this. I don't want to spend a ton of cash, and I also want to know if I get a newer pentium, if I'll have to get a new motherboard as well (obviously I would for an Athlon). Thanks
__________________

Hot Carl is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You can possibly get a newer pentium, please see the ID your hardware stick in the hardware section.

Well yoru question is open ended, we can all scream fx-57 here since you dont even have a price range
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default

I'd like stay around $300 or less
Hot Carl is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

well AMD CPU's are best for gaming but then again you'd need a new mobo to support AMD 64.

I strongly suggest you save up a little extra and buy an S939 mobo and an AMD 64 3200+ CPU (venice). Great performance, great price.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Maybe just a video card upgrade will do. I know Bf2 and Doom 3 are pretty GPU intensive.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well I'd say for running games like that, you're gonna want about a 3GHz P4 or an AMD 3000 or whatever, and a 6600GT.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 06:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

The processor is less than half the equation to getting good frames on today's games with good resolutions. Check if you has a good video card first.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to pitClancyKin
Default

where can I buy a AMD 2000 CPU ? I know my mobo will handle it and according to the MANu. It can be upgraded to 2800 with min. 758 ram I already bought 2 cpu fans and a Readeon 9600 vid card but need a faster CPU to handle them. Any Idea's??? Would prefer a Canadian Store if at all possible.
__________________

pitClancyKin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.