Need new Linux comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default Need new Linux comp

Hey guys and guyettes,

I have a problem with my Pentium II 350, it sucks when it comes to running some of the higher end user applications I wish to try.

I have A custom built machine with a P4. Was thinking about dual booting it but I already have heaps of data and stuff on the HDD and to back it up and re-format doesn't seem like a good option as I cannot stand to re-install windows again

I was thinking of a dell inperon 2400 or something else relitivly cheep under $500 as I'll Only be using it as a test machine.

Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated,

Jake
__________________

jakec is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

what is a hell inspiron 2400?No im not going to goto hell's website and look, that goes against everything I believe in
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

no DELL my eyes they burn. they suck for evrting not only linux windows too there cheeap on hardware.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Can't believe you would think of that?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 670
Default

Then what in the love of Edmund Barton's underpants would you Reccomend then?
__________________
Linux Distro chooser

[
jakec is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 12:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Follow this link and take your pick.

http://www.retrobox.com/rbwww/home/s...p?bin_id=world

RetroBox sells used computers that come from major companies who have ypgraded. All of thier systems come without an operating system, so they are perfect for a Linux box.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 12:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Ive done busines with retrobox, they are local for me, good company, the guy will even call you after testing what they sell you before they ship it.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 03:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

uhhh that retrobox thing looks good
__________________

contry is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.