Need a new graphics card for Doom 3 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2004, 11:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

DO NOT GET A GEFORCE XT OR A RADEON SE, THEY ARE REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD!!!!!!!!!!

Anyway, GeForce 5700 Ultra or 9600XT will play any of the latest games... you should definitely consider a Radeon 9800 Pro and modding it to a 9800 XT.

EDIT: For Doom 3 you should get yourself a 256MB graphics card.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 12:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

You can pick up a 256Mb Excalibur (HiS) Radeon 9600XT Classic D-Sub, DVI, TV-out (Retail) from www.scan.co.uk for £109.28 inc VAT.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 12:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Well, I just built my first PC and bought a Radeon 9800 Pro. It is a decent vid card. If I had to do it again, I would pimp myself on a corner to come up with the extra $$$ for a 6800 GT. My bud has one and it is an amazing card.
__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 12:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 168
Default

Thanks for all the replies.

Can someone explain exactly what the difference is between the SE, XT, ULTRA and PRO models?
__________________
--------------------

Nak

Is it just me, or does something smell suspicious about all this?
nak-1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

SE:Second edition often called sucky edition cause its a downgraded version of the video card. ex:9800se is a downgraded version of a 9800 4 pipleines opposed to 8 128-bit memory

XT:extreme edition cause its an overclocked of the pro and the pro is an overclocked version a regular video card.(note: xt in Nvidia cards is an bad thing. It means underclocked 4 some reason.

Ultra: In Nvidia terms is Nvidia's answer to a radeon xt. Its extremely overclocked just like an xt.

If i were you, i would get the 9800 pro cause its 256-bit and it has 8 pipleines. If you cant go for a 9800, go for a 9600xt 256 cause its overclocked and you can overclock it to a 9700.
__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Yes good job overclocker
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 168
Default

Indeed it was a good reply, just what I wanted to know.

I can get a 9800 PRO for £117, about $210

Decisions, decisions, decisions...

My fingers keep straying towards the credit card, but can it take any more punishment???!

Thanks for all the replies.
__________________
--------------------

Nak

Is it just me, or does something smell suspicious about all this?
nak-1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

dude u can get a pro on newegg.com for 195
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

Do not get the 9800se - the 9600 Pro runs my games 10X better...Like Kangaroo said, DO NOT GET THE 9800 SE!!!!
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 168
Default

Sadly there's a big bit of water between me and newegg. Shipping fee's would probably make it cost more than buying it here! But thanks for the tip.
__________________

__________________
--------------------

Nak

Is it just me, or does something smell suspicious about all this?
nak-1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.