Need Motherboard Help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2005, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default Need Motherboard Help.

Greetings All!!!

I am looking to buy a new motherboard with PCI Express slots. I am fairly computer illiterate, so I'm not even sure where to begin. I have a Dell deminsion 2300. It runs very well, but I would like to play some PC games and the graphics card we want is only available with the PCI express card. I hope this makes sense.

We are looking for a motherboard with more than 4 PCI slots and that has more memory storage. I don't know what gigabyte or overclocking is, so I don't know that I will understand anything but laymans terms if that's possible.

If anyone understands what I'm talking about and can help, it would be very much appreciated.
__________________

Xirian is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you get a new motherboardm than you have to get a new case.

Are you keeping that CPU? If so, we will need to know a bit more about that PC to recomend a motherboard. (I hate to break the laymans terms, but do you know what socket it is? If not, download CPU-Z from www.cpuid.com and show us a screenshot of the CPU tab.


What card are you getting btw?

(1000 post )
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 06:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Okay, lets see if I can do this. First of all we are going to keep the CPU. Secondly the card that he wants and doesn't seem to want to relent on is "ATI All-In-WonderX 600 Pro". The game that he wants to play gave specifics on what type of card you need.

Well, I think your fears have been confirmed. I can take the screenshot of what you want but can't get it here.

How have I gotten by all these years.

What should I do after I take the screen shot. It says to paste it but I am not allowed to after I take the shot.
Xirian is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 06:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I think I've figured this out.
Xirian is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Unhappy

I'm not sure if this is what you really wanted.

I would be grateful for any assistance you could provide.

Cheers
Xirian is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Your CPU will be very limiting in new games, your virtually going to have to build a new computer.

Dell PSU's plugs have differnet power in different spots, it will instaltly fry almost any motherboard.

Dell cases only fit dell motherboard's.

Your dell motherboard cannot support new graphics cards

Your RAM is either antique RD RAM or an old slow DDR

Anyways an x600XT is not a very good choice, the best value card out right now is the 6600GT for sure, it comes in AGP and PCI-E flavors at around 150-180$ for the card.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you very much for the information and for your promptness.

If I have anymore questions I know where to go.

Cheers.
__________________

Xirian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.