Need a monitor.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2004, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Default Need a monitor..

Alright, well I'm selling my 2 week old apple 20" aluminum cinema display that i used with my pb and now since I'm getting a pc I want a nice monitor to go with it.

What do you guys suggest? I know many of you pefer the CRT but thats mainly because of gaming.

Color accurancy and brightness is more important to me, so maybe the LCD is more down my alley. Then again, I also do some gaming and I really don't care about space.

as for price range, i'd like to keep it under a $800.

Let me know.

j-
__________________

archanix is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Get a nice 21" or larger flat screen CRT or an LCD with a resoponse time under 15 ms.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 10:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Default

any particular suggestions? brand?

some links would be appreciated.
archanix is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

go for CRT, get Mitsubishi Diamond Pro.

else in LCD, use the one i'm using, cause I bought it for same purpose that u have
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Default

nice lcd, too expensive tho.
archanix is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 04:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

you should be able to use the 20in cimema display on a pc!!!! it uses DVI and most modern graphics cards have a dvi port!
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
you should be able to use the 20in cimema display on a pc!!!! it uses DVI and most modern graphics cards have a dvi port!
But he's got a resolution of like 1650x1284 or something to that degree because it's widescreen and we're unsure if the Sapphire 9600XT will support that weird resolution without a registry hack which is about all the help we got out of that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 34
Default

plus.. the cinema display was a bit too expensive and id rather save some dough and sell it and get a cheaper crt or lcd.
archanix is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 04:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ok
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.