need a MOBO&CPU suggestion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2004, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default need a MOBO&CPU suggestion

I want to buy a P4 socket 478 with Dual-DDR up to 4GB . What i need is are suggestions on a MOBO. I'm also looking at getting a new Video card. Maybe a x600 or a radeon 9800 pro. Any suggestions on those ?
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

try to find an ic7-max3, they are discontinued, and amazing boards, but real hard to find
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

are u sure u want an Intel? i would suggest you get an AMD. Are u a gamer?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

yes i am a gamer.Thats all i do.
badkitty is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

u definately want an AMD.. look at the new amd 64 939. they have them for the 3000, 3200, 3500. and then the fx and all.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

how are the nvidia nforce chipsets? and do any of the mobos for them dupport dualchannel ddr
badkitty is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 06:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

yes, AMD is for gaming and Intel for editing video's and adobe programs
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.