Need a little help here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default Need a little help here

I have a P4 3.0 with a 6600gt PCIe video card and i have been getting lockups when ever i play any type of game. i kno wit isnt the video card(i have tried different ones) and i dont think it is over heating, just because it never goes past 50celcius. it only lockups when i play games, that i have noticed so far. i have a 400w power supply and a GA-8I915PL-G gigabyte mother board.
i dont kno wwhat can cause this but all it does is lock up in the middle of playing a game within 2-3 minutes of starting to play the game. Any suggestions?
__________________

Jeremiah is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

400W PSU? What brand?

If it came with the case, it's probably the culprit (this does not apply to Antec or ThermalTake, however).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 10:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
sr5
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
Default

How long has this been going on for? Did it just start? New game?
sr5 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

What games are getting locked up? It could be a driver issue. Usually when a GPU overheats it restarts the PC or completely shuts it down.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sr5
How long has this been going on for? Did it just start? New game?

brand new computer, not new game and started when i first got the computer. computer was made by my dad.


"What games are getting locked up? It could be a driver issue. Usually when a GPU overheats it restarts the PC or completely shuts it down."

it doesnt restart nor does it shut down, just locks up, freezes.
no blue screens or anything, just a lock up. and it locks up in any game.


400W PSU? What brand?

If it came with the case, it's probably the culprit (this does not apply to Antec or ThermalTake, however).



it says on the side of the PSU Codegen i guess thats the brand
Jeremiah is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 12:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

I don't think its overheating or too little power although it could be.

Did you try older drivers, newer drivers? Maybe alternatives like DNA or Omega drivers.

http://www.omegadrivers.net/

http://www.dna-drivers.com/index.php

Also use DriverCleaner when uninstalling and reinstalling drivers.

http://www.drivercleaner.net/

I use to have lockups in games when I use to just install over old drivers.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 01:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default

what drivers should i uninstal and get from those sites. i dont want to mess up anything up...
Jeremiah is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 01:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Get DriverCleaner first. DriverCleaner has all the instructions you need. I'm assuming you're using Nvidia drivers? Did you try updating the Nvidia drivers? Many gamers will recommend third party drivers like Omega and DNA because they have better FPS. I'm an ATI owner so I haven't used Nvidia drivers. But it should be the same process and it is listed in the readme in DriverCleaner. Make sure you download DriverCleaner Pro. I recommend Omega over DNA. Its easy to find which one to download just follow the tabs >Nvidia GF >Your OS. Then do what the readme says in DriverCleaner.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 01:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

ok, you found the problem yourself

many people do this, and IMO it's very stupid

that skimp on the power supply - never, ever go cheap onthe power supply, which is what your dad did

without a good PSU, that 6600gt pci-e won'tget enough power

i suggest you buy one of these 3 PSU's:
1. OCZ modstream 450W
2. OCZ modstream 520W
3. Fortron blue storm 500W

all can be found on www.newegg.com
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

playing games off disc....is the disc drive new with the computer or was it just a spare? does the disc drive function properly for everything else
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.