Need a Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 08:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Need a Laptop

Looking at getting a laptop but don't want to spend alot of money.

I am wanting one with Wireless Internet capabilities and all that good stuff.

I won't be doing major gaming as I'm not into that but just using it to store information, pretty much be my secretary, Will have some music on there so will need sound all that.

I've found a Compaq laptop I think with AMD Chip in it with Wireless and DVD/CD-RW Combo in it and all that good stuff for $499... Wondering if thats a good deal or should I avoid that.

May also go with a dell but I'm wanting your expertise to try to get the best bang for the buck.

Your assistance will be greatly appreciated.
__________________

kg4lhq is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 08:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

post link to said laptop so we can tell you.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Computer Specificiation

Computer I'm looking at is a Compaq Presario R4000 Notebook COmputer w/ AMD Mobile Sempron Processor 3000+

256MB Ram - Which I will upgrade
40GB HD
DVD-ROM/CD-RW Combo Drive
WIN XP with SP2
54G Intergreated Wireless LAN

15.4" WXGA Widescreen
kg4lhq is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Seems okay if you're using it for simple stuff. Like you said, it won't play any high end games. The speakers on it might not be of the highest quality, so if you're concerned about music you could buy a laptop/external soundcard, but then you'd need external speakers to take advantage of it. But if all you're using it for is simple stuff like you said, I think it should be fine.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 02:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

seems fine, if you don't play high games..
nuke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.