need help with a strange problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 10:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I tried it with scsi as the boot device, and still nothing
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 01:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

It looks like i might just have to install everything on that drive. I dont want to, any one have any ideas that could save me from a day of installing?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 01:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

try what was mentioned above if u havnt already... on both the EIDE and SATA drives, go to the /control pannel/folder options/ view/disable hiding system files.

then go to c:/boot.ini open in notepad, and change the OS to the sata disk # and partition #.
-----------------------------------

LS120 is likea zip drive, except the disks for it only have 120mb's of storage.
jolancer is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 01:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

jolancer, i am not quite clear on what i have to do.

I found the boot.ini backup file, i opened it up in note pad, this is what i find:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

That is the ide drive. This is the sata drive:

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn


What do I need to change?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Looking at what both of those boot.ini files say, they are exactly the same, which would make sence, since the J drive is cloned from the C drive. Could the computer be trying to boot off of both drives, but default to the ide drive?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 02:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Well I tried different arangements for my hard drives. I can only get the pc to boot off of the sata drive when it is the only drive connected. It wont boot at all with both sata drives, or both sata drive and the storage ide. With all four drives it boots off of the ide system drive.

I dont know what to do. I guess I just might have to install everything on the sata drive and se if that works. That might not even work.

One last time asking for any suggestions.

Maybe i'll find a mobo with sata on it, then i wont have to worry about this.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 02:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Listen, you need to get your bios to look for : (quote)

"PCI/ADD-IN Cards" first, somewhere in your bios you can make that work, and that basically is to make it look for SCSI drives, but it solved my problem with the SATA. It had 'PCI/ADD-IN Cards' after 'IDE Connected Drives', so it never reached the SATA.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 03:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I feel stupid, the reason it wasnt working was because the new sata was on the second sata slot, upon switching it to the first, everything worked.

Thanks to all those who helped.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.