Need Help in Search - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2004, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Cool Need Help in Search

Alright...the hunt is on. I could use some help finding the right mobo, and posting on forums tends to be the best way. Here's what it needs to do:

Socket A
ATX
AMD Athalon XP 3200+ 400MHz FSB
1024MB DDR 3200 400MHZ Dual Channel RAM, (at least to 2gigs)
AGP 8x 3.0
NVIDIA-compatible chipset (such as nForce 2)
Support for 2 disc drives (Pioneer DVD & Lite-On CDRW), 2 HDDs (ATA, UltraDMA100), and floppy
Must support USB 2.0 and Firewire
LAN (preferably gigabit) or 100/1000Mbps
at-least 4 PCI slots
(On-board sound, graphics, PCI-Express, is only a plus)
I don't use RAID, so if a board has it, it is just a plus to me

Now, I'm tired...so if I missed something needed...enlighten me...

Right. Out.
__________________

ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

y soyo? when everyone with experience says the best and reliable bourds for AMD, are from ASUS.

and shoobierat.. did u already buy the xp 3200? if not, u may wont to look at getting a 64 3000 instead, cause i think there about the same price now, or cheeper.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

no, im not talking about opinion, i dont listen to those spammers.. i mean the ppl who have real experience, or actually know the manufactuing difference and reliability. thy all say, ASUS, MSI, AbIt .. are the better choice.
jolancer is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

asus are in the top mobos for amds, i agree with that, which u want is up to you, there are some nice ones. take a look at www.pricewatch.com for good prices on the mobos
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 09:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

I was looking at a bunch of ASUS boards (on merchant sites and on their company website). Problem is, I was having a hard time finding boards that supported dual-channel RAM and could support all the stuff I got on my IDE. I currently run a Giga-byte board that supports 8 devices. All the ASUS boards I looked at support only 4. With 2 HDD, 2 disc drives, and a floppy, I think I've killed that. Plus, in the future, I plan on adding a third HDD, and possibly yet another perif., like maybe a backup tape drive or sometin'sumptin.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

(Additional Notes)

I did a bunch of research on the new AMD 64's (that are in the price range I'm looking at) and I wasn't wholely impressed. First off, the best price-matching 64bit proc I could find was the 3200+, which didn't support dual-channel RAM (though I also noted that the 64bit procs don't show a loss with their single-channel RAM over the XP's with their dual-channel). Second, the boards that support 754 pin procs are few and far between, with limited features. (I found one board that only supported TWO IDE devices!)

I think the biggest factor for me was that hardly anything I run can take advantage of the 64bit abilities. So far, the only application I use that really wants 64bit functionality, is physics simulations, and the machine we calc that stuff on is an MPS, so we're dancing circles.

I think I'd rather save my money (and features) and just stick with a Athlon XP 3200+

That is...unless someone can give me a convincing argument otherwise.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe... nice mobo.. but of course, i am usin Gigabyte GA-7N400-L for my AMD Athlon XP 3000+.. but the Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe is always a good choice too
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

*bump*

No bumping of topics!
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Alright...I won't bump anymore.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.