Need help with RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2005, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Question Need help with RAM

So I am looking to upgrade my computers performance with putting more RAM in it. Currently I have 256 MB of RAM. I am probably going to get 512 MB more and put it in with it. I have 3 slots and currently 1 is being used. My PC can hold up to a maximum of 1 Gig. of RAM. Would the 256 MB and 512 MB go over a Gig? (sorry kind of new to RAM and dont know how many MB are in a Gig. ) Also, how would I increase the amount of RAM my PC can have? Thanks
__________________

Antihero26 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 07:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sheky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to sheky
Default

ok first off 1gb of ram is equal to 1024mb of ram (if you care: 2 to the 10th factorial, its binary, hence 256 is 2^8 and 512 is 2^9) if you have three slots and you plan on getting 512 more that would give you 768mb of ram so not quite a GB. So to answer your question about your mobo, you should be fine. As for increasing the amt of ram your pc can have, you need to purchase a mobo which can take in more ram, these days 1gb of ram is very small for a mobo so you could purchase a 2gb max or even a 4gb max for relatively cheap; if your pockets are limited.
Hope this helped.
__________________

sheky is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 09:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Your motherboard either supports 768mb or 1.5gb not 1gb. If the dimms can only read 256 sticks then its 768. If your dimms can read 1 512 stick then 3 512's - 1.5gb. Got me? Make sure your motherboard can handle a 512 stick.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea im sure u would be ok with a 512 stick
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.