need help please :-( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Default need help please :-(

i just bought a new PC a few days ago and made my first move from integrated to dedicated graphics, overall im very happy with the performance even though it's a budget video card (9600 pro 256MB) but i have an issue with large pixelated spikes in some games example~> http://clan-teq.net/main/images/uploads/aawtf.JPG
my friends have 2 9600SE's and 1 9550SE, and play most of the same games without this problem, i've tried various settings in the catalyst control center but cant sem to get rid of this minor annoyance can anyone suggest anything?

Gigabyte GA-K8VM800M MOBO
AMD Athlon 3000+ 754pin
1Gig (2x512) DDR400 PC3200 RAM
120GB WD 7200RPM 8MB cahe HDD
Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB DDR AGP
Windows XP Home SP2
__________________

JoeJ615 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

This is a given but do you have the latest drivers?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

did you try turning up the settings?

more AA, AF, and turn the resolution to the max of your monitor?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 10:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Default

yea i have the catalyst 5.5 drivers, and i had the GPU options maxed out when i first saw the spikes now i have them turned down just a notch below max on everything and the spikes are still there, and yes i've tried changing AA and AF settings
JoeJ615 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol, that soliders being stabbed in class!

My first thoughts are simply you got a bunk card and you might considering RMAing it to get a replacement.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 10:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 52
Default

damn i really hope that isnt the case, i would hate to wait 2 weeks and pay extra shipping back and forth to newegg :-(
__________________

JoeJ615 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.