need help picking a computer from sears.com - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 10:27 PM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

oh , how many usb ports does this com wiht

our printer hooks up via usb port , so does my webcam, and moms digital camera
__________________

kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:10 PM   #42 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

In another thread some people were talking about the usage of ram and according to gaara (guy on this site, seems to know a lot) you only need a lot of ram if you are actually going to use it. Otherwise the memory controller will split resources when it doesn't need to and will actually make the computer slower.

I don't know how much ram dvd ripping takes but if its not a lot it would seem to me that you would be better off just getting 512mb.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:06 AM   #43 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kirtis_mcleskey
oh , how many usb ports does this com wiht

our printer hooks up via usb port , so does my webcam, and moms digital camera
if its a standard ATX case (which it is) it should come with 4.

About RAM, i gig is prolly a little excessive, but if he ever starts to multitask, or on the chance gets interested in games, then 1 gig will be nice to have.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:12 AM   #44 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

yeah i will go with the one gig.
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:28 AM   #45 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

If u ever need to add extra USB ports for some reason, im pretty sure u can get a PCI card that has a couple of ports in the back. an adaptor. besides, u can unplug ur mom's camera if u rnot using it
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 12:39 PM   #46 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

i know that some people have two drives
i probably wont ever be needing a second drive having 160 gigs already , but if i wanted to update my computer downl the line , is somethign like this possible.

just curious, as we cant update stuff all that much on our computer without our computer people wanting to completley remodel it
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 01:07 PM   #47 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

im about to order this computer


anything else i need to make sure of , before hitting submit

i notice you have 2 nec burners , thats fine , cause i will be able to burn with both correcft ?


WILL THIS BURNER burn 8x and faster, i saw that it had the number 4x in it ,
the burner at my aunts house burns my movies about 10 x


i also realized that the motherboard and processor when i change them to your specs. arent as expensive as the ones default selected

are the motherboard and drive and processor you picked noted to be good things

so will this computer probably work faster than one from sears
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 03:54 PM   #48 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

It will most definitly be faster. I just finalized it (again). i selected NEC drives cuz they are good quality. the speed is 16x/4x/?x i believe

Monarch Protea Value Desktop
$49.00 $49.00

Case: 100034 - PS 300W - Monarch 1150 USB 2.0 Tower Case $49.00 $49.00
Case Fan: 100987 - 120mm - Thermaltake 120X120X25mm Case Fan $9.99 $9.99
Motherboard: 110225 - ABIT SG-72 SIS 661FX/964L 800FSB/DDR400/A $55.00 $55.00
Processor: 120154 - Intel P4 Prescott 2.8 GHz 533 FSB 1M (Ret $169.00 $169.00
Thermal Grease: 800018 - Shin-Etsu G675 Thermal Grease (Cools CPU $14.00 $14.00
Memory: 140027 - DDR (333) 2700 - 1 GB Patriot (PSD1G333) $99.00 $99.00
2nd Memory: None
Hard Drive: 150606 - SATA - Seagate (ST3160827AS) 160 GB/7200- $99.00 $99.00
2nd Hard Drive: None
RAID Setup: None
RAID Controller: None
CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/CD-RW: 160457 - DVD-RW - NEC ND-3520A/GNB 4x-DVD+R DL/16x $59.00 $59.00
CD-RW/DVD-RW: 160457 - DVD-RW - NEC ND-3520A/GNB 4x-DVD+R DL/16x $59.00 $59.00
Floppy Drive: None
More Storage: None
Sound Card: None
Video Card: 190244 - ATI (Asus) Radeon 9250 128MB DDR/8x-AGP/T $66.00 $66.00
Modem: None
Network Card: None
Add-On Card: None
Case Function Add-On: None
Round Cables: None
Operating System: 210112 - Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition w/SP2 $89.00 $89.00
Additional Software: None
Antivirus: None
Warranty: 800007 - 1 Year - Parts & Labor - Barebone (No Sof
Hot Rush: None - Standard Order ( ships within 8-13 business
Wireless Network Card: None
CD-RW Software: 210613 - Ahead Nero 6.3 Suite DVD+-RW Software (OE $6.99 $6.99
DVD-ROM Software: 210601 - Cyberlink PowerDVD 6.0 (OEM) $6.99 $6.99
Video Capture: None
TV Tuner: None
Subtotal for 80318 with your selected options: $830.97
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 05:48 PM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Why are you choosing DDR333 for his RAM? That motheboard supports DDR400.
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 06:45 PM   #50 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Good point, my mouse slipped. When u select ur RAM, kirits, get DDR 400 (PC3200)
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.