need help picking a computer from sears.com - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 07:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

HP = proprietary hardware = CRAP

HP = CRAP

try this config. Im sure someone will find a problem, but im in a hurry here

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?

EDIT: Link isnt working, prolly a cookie issue.

here is the config:

Monarch Protea Value Desktop
$49.00 $49.00

Case: 100034 - PS 300W - Monarch 1150 USB 2.0 Tower Case $49.00 $49.00
Case Fan: None
Motherboard: 110225 - ABIT SG-72 SIS 661FX/964L 800FSB/DDR400/A $55.00 $55.00
Processor: 120152 - Intel P4 Prescott 3.0 GHz 800 FSB 1M (HT) $195.00 $195.00
Thermal Grease: None
Memory: 140018 - DDR (400) 3200 - 1 GB (2 pcs 512) Patriot $84.00 $84.00
2nd Memory: None
Hard Drive: 150208 - IDE - Seagate (ST3160021A) 160 GB/7200-RP $85.00 $85.00
2nd Hard Drive: None
RAID Setup: None
RAID Controller: None
CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/CD-RW: 160457 - DVD-RW - NEC ND-3520A/GNB 4x-DVD+R DL/16x $59.00 $59.00
CD-RW/DVD-RW: 160457 - DVD-RW - NEC ND-3520A/GNB 4x-DVD+R DL/16x $59.00 $59.00
Floppy Drive: 170110 - Mitsumi 1.44 MB 3.5" Floppy Drive (Black) $20.00 $20.00
More Storage: None
Sound Card: None
Video Card: 190244 - ATI (Asus) Radeon 9250 128MB DDR/8x-AGP/T $66.00 $66.00
Modem: None
Network Card: None
Add-On Card: None
Case Function Add-On: None
Round Cables: None
Operating System: 210225 - Fedora Core 3 x86 (Install Only) $90.00 $90.00
Additional Software: None
Antivirus: None
Warranty: 800007 - 1 Year - Parts & Labor - Barebone (No Sof
Hot Rush: None - Standard Order ( ships within 8-13 business
Wireless Network Card: None
CD-RW Software: 210613 - Ahead Nero 6.3 Suite DVD+-RW Software (OE $6.99 $6.99
DVD-ROM Software: 210601 - Cyberlink PowerDVD 6.0 (OEM) $6.99 $6.99
Video Capture: None
TV Tuner: None
Subtotal for 80318 with your selected options: $824.98
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 08:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

ok ,

can you guys pinpoint a computer on dell?

so far im thinkingf about the sears one , or the monarch
__________________

kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 08:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

if you guyys agree with dhw200 about monarchs computer, i will get that one lol

anyone second it over sears lol

thanks you guys for trying to help me , i feel alot more comfortable talking to you guys about it than some computer guy at the store. wantign to sell me his computer
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 08:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

http://ecomm.dell.com/dellstore/bask...s&itemtype=CFG
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 08:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Ya today I was a compusa and this guy was trying to tell a buyer that having 160 gb of hd space warrented an extra 300 dollars.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 09:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

hey dhw200 , i noticed that it says the option wireless network card

and you hav none

do i not need this if i plan on getting wireless later, cuase i want wireless here in about 2 months

but right now i have dial up.
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 09:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I believe the wireless you will be getting will be wireless to an antenna that comes with the service, but then wired from there to the computer.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 09:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kirtis_mcleskey
hey dhw200 , i noticed that it says the option wireless network card

and you hav none

do i not need this if i plan on getting wireless later, cuase i want wireless here in about 2 months

but right now i have dial up.
It may have 801.11X wireless, but if you get "wireless" your using a seperate protocol.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 09:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

do you guys think that this computer with his options will be fine for me and better than a computer from sears or dell as far as qulaity of the computer ?
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 09:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I suggest that somebody else look over my specs carefully - like i said, i did it in a hurry. i pretty sure i forgot thermal paste and a floppy drive for one lol.

And yes, Monarch's quality is MUCH better than Dell or Sears
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.