need help picking a computer from sears.com - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default need help picking a computer from sears.com

hey ,

first let me say that I have read that you can get a better computer
if you buy your parts and do it yourself, but , I dont think im cut out to do that

Here is what im looking for in a computers.

at least 80 gigs of memory, in drive C:
and basically for it just not to be slow ,

I also have dial up internet for the time being and will be getting wireless in the future .

I need a computer that I can use and the computer work well with a dvd burner and the computer having enough memory to burn dvds.

i have my dvd burner at my aunts house on her computer, because i didnt have enough memory on our current computer.

and I trust picking one from sears , because thats where seh got her computer here about 4 years ago and she has a good computers, it works good for what I want to use it for , which is just surfing the internet , and burning dvds.

can you guys maybe pin point one out to me on sears.com prefably under $1000

id really appreciate if you guys helped me on this.
__________________

kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I would def not reccomend sears as they are trying to rip you off, but here. This will fill your needs.
http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...ktop+Computers
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

If you really, REALLY want one from Sears, thats your choice, but there are far better places to buy from online. try www.monarchcomputer.com
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

well if not sears, , is there a place wher you could pinpoint me , to get a good computer and kinda pick it out for me ,

i just dont want one that takes 10 minutes to start up , like this one does.
and just be able to handle my dvd burner
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

As I just posted, www.monarchcomputer.com
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

hey , could you pinpoint one out for me on the monbarch site

i am looking , im not getting on here and not even tryign its just im not sure what to look for in a computer for my needs.
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

For a person like you, a dell could also supply your needs.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

i mean a specific computer on there site ?
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Default

i thought about dell , but im not sure as ive heard rumors on this site, if you buy a already m ade computer, dont get dell ,

i seen it somewhere im not sure


about the sears site ,
the guys said would suit my needs

what about this one

i notice it has more gigs

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...id=00370141000
kirtis_mcleskey is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

You don't need that much more memory for ripping dvds. Also, dell gets ripped alot around here, but its def better than sears.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.