Need help overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2005, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Need help overclocking

I upgraded my work PC to:

2x PIII (coppermine) 700/100/256
832MB PC133 RAM
Asus CUR-DLS motherboard

I am looking to overclock and was curious if there was an asus tool to do this in windows. There is no option to do this in the bios. Any help is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It isn't very good overclocking in windows...

clockgen will though: http://www.cpuid.org/clockgen.php
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

You should OC those to the max, unless you wanted to keep them for some strange reason. I want some old computers to just jack up with OC'ing.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
It isn't very good overclocking in windows...

clockgen will though: http://www.cpuid.org/clockgen.php
clockgen doesnt make it for the asus cls-dlr motherboard, i checked that already, but thanks
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Shawn - the best and easiest way to overclock is through your BIOS. BTW- Is it a Dell made system? If it is you cannot O.C. (it won't allow you)
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

No, its not dell. My job doesnt want to buy new machines, so i look around and find the best of the crap thats here and I put it together for a machine. I found this motherboard lying around so I pulled chips from 2 other machines and put something slower in them and used it for me. I currently have 1 PIII 733/133 and i am waiting to come across another and i will "upgrade" to that. The bios in this motherboard does not give me the option to overclock so I wanted to do it through windows. I dont care if it blows up. Got me?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Blow the $hit Outta it!!!!!!! Hurray!!!!!! Have fun!!! I wish i had a machine i could just fool around with and not care if the thing catches on fire,lol.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

But what do I use to OC it?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

There isnt going to be an option that says "Overclock". Find the option that says FSB, and up that little by little. Youa re also in the wrong topic, there is an overclocking topic. Go int here and read the basics. You are also going to have to mess with the RAM, which is a project in itself. Also, you have to have adequate cooling. When you overclock, the temps raise, so you gotta cool the **** out of those. I really am not sure of the Ocing potential of a P3, so I'm not going to tell you if it will do that or not. We will wait for Nubius on that one .
Him is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^I know how to overclock. There is no option in the bios to up anything, thats why i was asking for a tool.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.