Need help with norton internet security - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2004, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default Need help with norton internet security

Windows XP pro, THe problem is norton internet security kept coming up with pop up messages saying that the firewall and antivirus is turned off. The thing is they came up about every 10 seconds and I could not figure out away to get rid of them with out uninstalling the program. However i can not uninstall because it wont let me. It says i have to be logged into the account on internet security and i dont find where i can login. Now if there was a way to force delete on windows xp i would just delete all the files that it wont let me.

any help is appreciated,

P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 02:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118

Open up Norton IS,

Under the Norton Internet Security Tab, click on User Accounts. Click log-in. More than likely the account name is Supervisor. Who knows what the password is because you set it up.

Once you're logged in, you can remove it.


Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes


Yeah, there is an easy way of doing this without knowing the password.

* login into safe mode and disable all entries in the msconfig relating to norton.
* Delete the norton folder from safe mode. [ yea, it will wipe out! ]
* Now ,restart, hit normal mode, goto add/remove programs . Find the norton entry and click remove. Now it ll be safely removed.

Norton Removed.

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 10:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286

that happened to me too. You could either try Safe Mode like these dudes said, or use DOS if you know how. I just found out that antivirus didn't like my PC so I just use ZoneAlarm and scan my computer peridically with AdAware. It works great.
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.