Need help with mobo! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2005, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to NismoR34Drift
Default Need help with mobo!

I'm lookin' on building a new high-performance PC - definitely for high end gaming, but also maybe some video editing, DVD ripping, etc. I want to run a dual processor config - I dont know if I can do that with the current P4's or the AMD 64 bits - Im just wondering if A) AMD or P4 (w/HT) (if they can do this) would be better/less expensive to use, and B) what mobo would allow me to do this
__________________

NismoR34Drift is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Are you sure you want to get dual processors!? Or did you mean you want to get a dual core CPU?

If you are looking for a dual cpu config, here's a motherboard to look at.

I dont have a lot of experience with high-end workstation/server builds, so I dont really know if this board is any good.

Hmmm, there's something to research tomorrow...
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to NismoR34Drift
Default

I was considering doing a Dual Processor config - I figured getting two lower end P4's with HT (lets say, 2 2.2 GHz CPUs) would be cheaper than splurging for the top of the line P4 and vice versa with AMD. Unfortunately I heard that Windows XP wasn't too friendly with DP systems...
NismoR34Drift is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Use AMD's
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I dont think that you can get an Intel system that supports 2 P4s (not 100% sure).

From the looks of www.intel.com the only dual processor setup is the Xeon (and the Itanium, but that costs a fortune).
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to NismoR34Drift
Default

Maybe that's true...I think I'll look into gettin a top of the line Pentium, watercool it, and OC the crap out of it...I need to compare the two pricewise
NismoR34Drift is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Um... Cant you only run Xeon's with duel procesors??? Not sure but I think so. And anyway dude if your video editing never ever never get an AMD.

And if your willing to drop the dough a P4 3.6 Double E kicks major ***. With having the L3 cache it kicks major ***.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.