Need help coverting 1tb WD hard drive to fat32 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2012, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default Need help coverting 1tb WD hard drive to fat32

I have a 1tb Western Digital hard drive that I'd like to use with my Xbox. I have Minitool Wizard, in which I've used multiple times before on other hard drives. The only thing is that every time I convert it to fat32, it doesn't respond to my Xbox. I realize that it needs to be set to PRIMARY but, however, it's set to GPT. I'm not familiar with GPT and Minitool won't let me modify to primary. Er! Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

happykush is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 53
Default Re: Need help coverting 1tb WD hard drive to fat32

Will you be connecting your hard drive directly to your Xbox for storage? I think it is possible, I have done it with a flash drive of which I just had to plug it in and format it with the Xbox. Have you tried that or is it not responding at all?
__________________

Fatrat92 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Oh no, it's for watching movies and tv shows, etc. If you format thru the xbox, doesn't that disable you from being able to use it with your computer?

NEVERMIND! Figured it out. haha, Just gotta initialize it to MBR. ;0
happykush is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 10:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Need help coverting 1tb WD hard drive to fat32

yes it does. I tried the same thing with a WD 2tb hard drive and stumbled across some helpful youtube vids that got me going in the right direction. here's one that should work for you http://youtu.be/qGob2abtUuY
scillamonster is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 03:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Need help coverting 1tb WD hard drive to fat32

Wait, on the original Xbox, or xbox 360? I thought the most the Xbox 360 allowed was 16GB on USB based storage? o.0
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5
Default Re: Need help coverting 1tb WD hard drive to fat32

I have a newer 360 with the built in wifi and I know it worked for me.
__________________

scillamonster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Format 1TB WD Passport to Fat32? Digimortal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-30-2011 10:12 PM
Trying to format hard drive to fat32 Mecrob99 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-14-2010 04:52 PM
1TB Hard Drive I&E Recommendations? blucube New Systems | Building and Buying 18 03-05-2009 08:58 PM
Western Digital 1TB hard drive NosBoost300 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-28-2007 02:02 AM
Hitachi breaks 1TB hard drive barrier with 7K1000 j12 Off Topic Discussion 7 01-05-2007 05:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.