Need help: Computer won't post/display. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2005, 08:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default Need help: Computer won't post/display.

Hello, i've just recently started building a computer, i've got all the pieces and once built I start up, all fans start, the processor get hotter(used temperature monitor to make sure certain areas were getting power.) everything seems to be getting power so the supply is fine. So what happens is nothing displays on the monitor, when I unplug it, it recongizes it's unplugged but when hooked up the monitor the monitor's power button blinks on and off.

I've tested the monitor on a laptop and another computer so it's fine. I've tried testing without memory, video card, etc, leaving only the processor, mobo and fans. (I also get no post beeps period, from what I believe though the model mobo I have, has a defect that has no post beeps.) Still nothing. Everyone had originally suggested the video card but I've since then recieved a new one and tried with and without. I've come to the conclusion it is the motherboard's bios acting up. But I want to make sure there isn't a compatability problem i've over looked or something, any and all help is appreciated. So anyhow here is my setup. Thanks for all help guys and gals.

Computer specs:

Monitor- Samsung LCD

Memory- 1gig 2x512mb 3200 Kingston Xtreme series

hard drive- 80gig seagate

Motherboard- winfast px6800 256mb geforce 6800 pci xpress

Processor- AMD 64 3200+

Motherboard- MSI RS480M2-IL socket 939 pci xpress etc, here is the link.
http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...M2-IL&class=mb

soundtrack- Creative sound blaster audigy 2

CD rom- DVD/CD-ROM drive

power supply- ATHENA POWER AP-MP4ATX45 MicroATX 450W Power Supply
__________________

ixupi is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Reset the bios with the jumpers. See your manual. Otherwise setup an RMA.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yeah. I forgot to mention I cleared the jumpers. I saw the manual and website's advice and tried it all. I just filled out the RMA form now, so that's that.
ixupi is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Make sure you have power plugged into your video card or it wont display.

Unplug everything and leave only power to the motherboard and your video card with power to it. (Unplug all ide cables, sata cables, front panel usb/firewire, power buttons, etc.) Then turn the system on with a screw driver (making contact where the power button turns on at)

If that doesnt work, take the board out of the case and try to run i t on the motherboard box (with proc/video only).. If you cant get post that way i'd say its a bad board or psu.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Could the PSU be bad even though it provides power to all fans, processors, video card, etc. I mean everything starts normally and everything.

I've tried testing the motherboard out of the case, so to make sure it isn't the case's fault. I've tried with every single combination of parts and i've tested another PSU in it, even though it was only a 200watt, it still should of acted different, still same deal.

Any other comments or suggestions?
ixupi is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Nope, i'd say psu or mb.. See if you can take it to a local shop and have them test it for you.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 08:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Well since sending the MB to the company for repairs is free and since having a shop test it will cost money, i'd rather go ahead and wait and send in the MB for repairs first. I keep suspecting some how the PSU could be it as well, but it just doesn't make sense. It's 450w and even if it wasn't running at it's fullest it should still run the MB and processor with memory. I mean with everything in it, it runs all the fans at full speed without a problem. So I don't know, no way for me to really check that out.
ixupi is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 08:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Just a quick question, does your mobo have integrated video?
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 09:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes, it does. Plus, i've tested with two different video cards. So i've ruled that out.
__________________

ixupi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.