need help with boot up (installed new water cooler) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2005, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default need help with boot up (installed new water cooler)

hey well i just installed an Evercool WC-202 and got everything working but now when i turn on my computer, when it goes to boot windows its shuts off or if i go into BIOS it will shut off too. By using a regular fan on the CPU it doesn't do this but when i put the CPU water block on it does. i would really appreciate it if anyone could help me here. P.S. I have an ASUS A7v600-X M/B.
__________________

flash21 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

Do you suppose that it could be that it's reading the CPU fan speed as 0 RPM (because it's not there) and shutting down as a safety measure? You could try hooking up the old CPU fan and laying it outside the case or somewhere safe and see if it stays on.
__________________

__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^hes got a point. See if there is an option in the bios to disable that.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

This was brought up in another thread....his I believe it was actually. That should have nothing to do with it. a 3pin connector has to be connected to the CPU 3pin on the motherboard for it to even recognize theres a fan there otherwise it won't register it at 0RPM it will just see it as not even being there so I doubt that's the issue.

But like was suggested in the previous thread, throw a fan on that jumper and see if it boots up. Then you can turn off that 'CPU Shutdown when fan fail' option.

You are making sure your water is flowing right? If it's not flowing at all that can and will cause it to overheat
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 10:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

aight well i figured out what was not letting me get into windows ... there was an option under the BIOS>POWER>Hardware Monitor it displayed the CPU fan RPMs so i hit enter on it and displayed IGNORE ... restarted the computer and it worked ... so thanx for your help guys ... this water cooling is awesome!
flash21 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.