Need help with Asus M3A78-T and Phemom ii 920 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2009, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Unhappy Need help with Asus M3A78-T and Phemom ii 920

It has been a long time since I built my own and I am not sure why I cannot get my computer to work last night.

The bios setup set on auto but somehow, my computer not allowing me to get to window xp desktop. When my computer start to load window xp, it shut off and reboot again. No error indicated other then asking whether I should load window as safe mode or not. When I select safe mode, it reboot again.

I don't have a new hard drive so I used an older IDE hard drive from my previous P4 computer that the motherboard went dead last week.

My question is, could it be my older hard drive not set up correctly or something else?

Should I buy new SATA hard drive and see if it work?

Or one of my connection are not connected properly?

I am using the internal graphic card for now. No other attachment beside DVD Rom and hard drive.

Please help.
__________________

eddyxwb is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Need help with Asus M3A78-T and Phemom ii 920

Was there a momentary flash of a blue screen? If you still have an existing OS on that old hard drive, and are trying to load it using completely new hardware it may cause issues since Windows will realize that your system has changed.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Need help with Asus M3A78-T and Phemom ii 920

You need to reinstall windows, you cant just boot off an old install and expect it to work.

New hardware requires a completely different set of drivers, you need to boot off the windows xp cd and perform a clean install. If you have free space, you can create a new partition and install it on there, then when you boot up you can transfer files over and delete the other partition.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Need help with Asus M3A78-T and Phemom ii 920

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
You need to reinstall windows, you cant just boot off an old install and expect it to work.

New hardware requires a completely different set of drivers, you need to boot off the windows xp cd and perform a clean install. If you have free space, you can create a new partition and install it on there, then when you boot up you can transfer files over and delete the other partition.
Perhaps you are right. I will try to re-install window xp and see if it works.
eddyxwb is offline  
Old 02-05-2009, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Need help with Asus M3A78-T and Phemom ii 920

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddyxwb View Post
I don't have a new hard drive so I used an older IDE hard drive from my previous P4 computer that the motherboard went dead last week.
This is the problem. As Rican already said you will have to either re-install Windows or repair it.

Since you had a old setup the hardware profile doesnt match and therefor Windows can not boot for this reason.

A repair should work just as well as a reinstall. But yeah you cant plug in a HDD with a install onto a new machine like that and have it work.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.