Need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 07-04-2005, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Unhappy Need help!

I'm sorry but I really don't know what I"m doing at all. I'm a nurse....and no where near computer savy.

BUT

I have an old computer that I was given. and it was full of 'stuff' so i wasn't able to download any programs I wanted. it kept saying....not enough disc space. so I found something in 'C' that asked if I wanted to restore to factory settings...so I said yes....it said everything that's been added will be deleted....which was fine with me...because I didn't have anything personal on it. soooooooooo, it starts some kind of set up....then gets to a point that says clone finished. contr alt del to restart...which I did. and now all I get is the regular start up that tells you what system you have and at the bottom it says to enter <del> for start up mode (maybe??) and then it goes to a blinking cursor and stops.

It is OLD. A Dell. Pent 2. Wind NT and 95 it says on the front. I Have a windows xp disc I was going to use to install after I restored it...but I somehow messed it all up. I tried putting the windows xp disc in hoping it would start up....but nothing....just the darned blinking cursor.

did I completely destroy it? or is there hope?

any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tracy

Old 07-04-2005, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)

Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

OK, did you set BIOS to boot of a CD? You should be able to hold F2 right after turning it on, and it will bring you to BIOS. Snoop around for a setting for "First Boot Device", or something similar. Set it to CD-ROM, hit F10, and tell it to save the settings.

Debian Support Forums!
Old 07-04-2005, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default thanks

I'll go try that now.....thanks for replying!