Need halp fast computer shuts off right after booting!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2006, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Need halp fast computer shuts off right after booting!!

When ever I go to start my computer I hear this quiet high pitch whining and it doesn't even get to the xp logon screen before the power just quits but the power lights stay on.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 02:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Check the fan on your CPU.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 03:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

maybe ur psu
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Cpu's fine the fan still spinns fast while it's turned on. sometimes I can get it to work in safe mode or vga mode for longer
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Possibly bad contact between CPU and heatsink? Ie. not enough thermal paste. Try PSU, as has been suggested.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I would try another power supply, But assuming you don't have an extra one. Try Posting with only the Minimum, CPU, RAM and Videocard, Then if that works. attach the HD and Boot, Continue to attach devices until it no longer works.
Now obviously you NEED to turn off your computer before attaching the next device.

If it doesn't even Post, with CPU, RAM, Video card then were looking at PSU, CPU, Motherboard or a RAM Problem.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 01:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

ok I'm looking inside the computer right now, I have a new question, can a video card be black because I know usually curcuit bords are green but my video card is mostly black.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Black doesn't sound good, I know mine is green.
Winner is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 08:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikee
ok I'm looking inside the computer right now, I have a new question, can a video card be black because I know usually curcuit bords are green but my video card is mostly black.
Has your card always been black, or is this something new? If it looks like singe marks you might have a problem. However you must have had a video signal to get on TF and post, so your card is probably ok. Check your cards temps just to be safe
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 10:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I got on using my old computer but everything's ok now I replaced the card with a better one and everything works now
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.