Need criticism on my new system! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2004, 08:17 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Still, thanks guys!
I think I am going to stick with the Lian Li case. I am not convinced on the Athlon 64...I plan on running Windows XP and I don't see why I should be so jazzed about a new OS in the future.
Does the K8 support my AMD Barton 3200? I had my heart set on the A78X, but if I can get something of virtually comparable quality for less money, I will go for it.
I am going to initially purchase just 1 512 mb stick of ram for a start and the other stick when I get more cash.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 09:50 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

Well, if you want to cut costs, try dropping the CD-RW drive. the DVD-RW drive can probably handle CD-RW too.
Also, if you stick with the Asus A7N8X-Deluxe, there is no need for the Audigy ZS, since I believe the A7N8X has integrated 5.1 audio.
I think that shaves of about $200, at least.
And for the case/PSU, the NZXT Guardian and a 420w Thermaltake PSU will do you nicely (it has 9 power connectors O.O)
__________________

__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 09:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

and for RAM, take a look at Kingston's ValuRAM 512Mb dual-channel kit. it's the same price as a single 512Mb stick, so you get the same storage, but more speed.
__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 09:58 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

That sounds good, but I want a single 512mb stick because I will be buying another one later when I get the cash.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 01:07 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

You still can, I think.
Since the Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe (which is the Asus board I recommend) has 3 memory slots, you can put the 512Mb kit (2 x 256Mb sticks) in two slots, and a 512Mb stick in the third.
The board would count it as two banks of 512Mb.
512Mb + (256Mb + 256Mb)

I think that's how it was described. Not completely sure though, you might want to look it up, or hope someone corrects me if i'm wrong.
Also, you might want to take a look at the FIC AU13 mobo I have.
It's cheaper, has all the integrated surround sound the Asus board has, AND digital optical and coaxial out, so you can hook up some nice speakers and get some Dolby Digital 5.1 rockin' the house.
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...140-112&depa=1
$88, as opposed to the Asus board's $99
__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:35 AM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no, unfortunately K8 boards don't support Athlon XP's as they are socket 754; and the reason I included another sound card is that I have heard of Asus boards and people using their onboard sound. the people described it as "crackly" or "laggy"
I think Gigabyte boards have descent onboard sound, and most of them now have Nforce 2/3 chipsets

Zero Shift: yes a DVD burner can burn normal CD's, but not as fast as a standard CDR/RW drive

for the warranties: I am pretty sure most of the parts have waranties, but I did make sure that all the brands I included are among the more reputable for quality, so you shouldn't need to return them.

in about 1 year I have heard that AMD are only going to make 64-bit CPU's, I strongly reccomend the Athlon 64 as you should have it longer than an XP before you upgrade. after all, they said that 32-bit wasn't going to take off when it first came out.

if you don't want to go 64-bit then I would suggest This Gigabyte 7S748-L with Athlon XP 3200+ Barton $210.98
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.